City Girl Meets Country - My Model of the Day

in #photography7 years ago

KellyWM.png

I don't have too much to say about this image...I took this photo during an impromptu shoot on my farm, with one of my closest friends, on the first day of summer. We were taking a walk down my driveway a few weeks after the soy crops had been planted, and it was an hour or two before the sun would start to set. The angle of the sun was perfectly highlighting the strategic rows and, as my friend stated, they "looked so cool".

So, I ran back to my house to grab my camera and flash and we began shooting. Because my friend has the natural ability to model, she required no direction in posing from me, making this a quick and easy shoot. The result I got was pretty perfect straight out of the camera, so it required little editing. In order to achieve the warm skin tone, and to avoid underexposing my subject, I bounced the flash off a gold umbrella at a 180 degree angle from the sun.

In retrospect, her overall look would be more suited for an urban setting, but in some ways, I like how the city look is integrated into a country setting. I would love to get some feedback, as this is not my usual photography style (as you can see from some of my earlier posts). Thanks for reading!