Peanut Butter Macaron Food Photo Shoot

in #photography6 years ago

001.jpg

...actually it's just a Ritz cracker with peanut butter, since I'm not that fancy.

We've been snowed in all day here in New Jersey, and I've been itching to take photos. Since my kids weren't cooperating in front of the lens, I decided to go make a snack for my 5 year old who was complaining that she was hungry (after just finishing lunch).

With my camera still strapped around my neck, I grabbed the peanut butter that had been sitting out on the counter all day, and a stack of crackers. As I assembled the little sandwiches, I decided to take some time to document the process of putting them together. I mean, at least the crackers would sit still for me, right?

003.jpg

I grabbed some simple flowers and a wooden lazy susan that I got on clearance at Homegoods (I was happy to finally be able to use it) and began shooting.

002.jpg

I tried making the peanut butter look all perfect, but again, I'm not that fancy. (You can even see the spot where I scraped the excess off of the knife using the edge of the cracker). I do like the idea of food photography though. It seems much easier than rounding up little children and trying to get them to smile, or even look at you.

Anyway, as I sit here amongst the chaos of my 2 children running amok (and my 2 year old telling me she wants "vegetable poop" for dinner), I try to remind myself that it's important to take some time to appreciate the process behind creating something...anything...whether it be art, a photograph, a meal...you get the idea.

Well, I'm off to make dinner, and no, it won't be "vegetable poop".

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Recipe:

Ritz crackers (2)
Peanut butter (smooth or crunchy, or substitute any type of nut or seed butter of your liking)

Spread desired amount of peanut butter on flat side of 1 cracker. Place the other cracker, face down, on the cracker spread with peanut butter.

Enjoy!

Congratulations @kpasoreck! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!