Lemon Vanilla Pie

in #photography4 years ago

Hey Steemit!

It's been ages since I've posted something here, but guess what? I'm still alive:D The seasonal changes are impacting my mood like crazy, so the only thing on my mind lately is: sleep, sleep and again, sleep... Now I know I'm not the only one suffering from it, so I've got some motivating words for those people: spring will eventually come again!


Eggs everywhere

One of the few things that are getting me in a better mood these days is comfort food. And lucky as I am @rubencress can appreciate something homemade as well. While I was on my way to his house he told me that he had loads of eggs at home which needed to be consumed this week. So I immediately said: "TIRAMISU!". But I concluded that I was too tired to get into the kitchen that night. Ruben wanted to make an egg salad to put on a baguette as a snack and I came up with Shakshuka for dinner. So far our little brainstorm session about egg-containing-foods, haha.

The next day we still had some eggs left, so I looked up recipes for a simple vanilla cake. 200 grams of flour, 200 grams of butter, 200 grams of sugar, 4 eggs and a little bit of vanilla sugar. Easy peasy lemon squeezy!

Once I was done with the batter I let Ruben taste it and he told me to add some lemon juice. I like to be careful when it comes to adding ingredients with a strong taste, but those days are over since I've met Ruben (my mouth has been on fire multiple times with him next to me laughing his lungs out). The lemon juice was added and I had to admit that it tasted perfect!


Feeling nostalgic

The entire house smelled like pie after I took it out of the oven and I couldn't wait to have a bite. But first things first. Ruben told me he wanted to help me with taking the photo, BUT I had to do the styling myself. Normally I wouldn't bother doing so, but since he is the professional I always get a little insecure about my styling skills.

In the end, I think the photograph turned out pretty awesome. It gives me this nostalgic feeling when I look at it.


©2019 @rubencress


What do you think? Does this photo makes you want to have a bite or two?;)


Hope you'll have a great week!

Lots of love,
Dymph

Sort:  

Hope you enjoyed the two months in the forest.
It's a very natural thing to hibernate and you said you were going there in your last post so 1+1 = 2
It's also the best place to hibernate ( for bears, that is ).

Knuffel uit Portugal!

Haha I had a blast in the forest, but I only stayed for a few hours. Still, it's a great place to clear your head (or hibernate😜)

Hope you're doing well!

Crushed it. If I didn't just have dinner, I'd ask for a slice. So I'll be back later for my bite, maybe a glass of milk to wash it down.

I've been told that there's a special place next to your stomach, especially made for desserts😌

Hey @lackofcolor! We've manually upvoted your post with both accounts, @build-it.assist and @build-it.curator.

As a matter of interest, there's a tribe on the steem platform known as Build-it that accommodates all DIY, How-to tutorials, and life-hacks respectively.

Your DIY/how-to tutorials get rewarded with the tribe's token known as BUILD upon posting via our website or by using one of the recommended tags; #diy, #how-to, #build-it, #build, and #doityourself. Chat with us on our discord and telegram channels Discord, Telegram. Are we adding value ? your witness vote will be appreciated! Click here to vote

Congratulations @lackofcolor! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 600 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 700 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!