Old 4th Ward, Atlanta with the Best Small Camera in the World

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

DSCF1097.jpg

Back in the 90's I lived in Atlanta right after college and then moved to Florida in 2001. Almost 20 years later I return to the city to work on a project the next couple of weeks. Photography as a career is feeling less and less likely to continue, but occasionally I feel the need to take images. I don't always get satisfaction from the images themselves, but the process of making others feel something special is more satisfying.

The Fuji Xpro1 which I acquired a couple of months ago makes for the perfect travel camera. It's size and spectacular black and white images hit the spot. I have the Fuji 18mm 2.0 lens which is the equivalent of a 35mm lens on this SPC sensor....whatever they fuck that means, just know it's a basically a 35.

I'll let the images tell the story as I'm not much of a writer and feel the images tell a better story anyway.

Above A Cadillac hurst parked in the Old 4th Ward.

I should note that these images were taken from a bicycle, I went riding with two old friends, Rick and Gregg, from back when I lived in ATL in the 90's. We rode Old 4th Ward, Beltline, Cabbage Town and Midtown.
DSCF1069.jpg
Actually this was taken the day before in North Atlanta near the permitter. Weird gun shop.

DSCF1106.jpg
A couple sits looking photos on a couch in Cabbage Town.

DSCF1108.jpg

DSCF1114.jpg
Then we rode through the old Atlanta cemetery which has a lot of historical figures buried there. A couple of girls where fixing up an area...the cemetery has become a place to visit for tourist in more recent years. Back in the 90's it was where homeless and junkies hung out.
DSCF1120.jpg
Unknown Confederate Dead Back in 1890 The Ladies Memorial Association had this wounded lion monument made to honor the 3,000 unknown confederate soldiers which are buried in the Oakland Cemetery.

DSCF1121.jpg
Soldiers from 1863, Battle of Atlanta.

DSCF1123.jpg

DSCF1125.jpg
Down the road from the cemetery is the Old 4th Ward. Here is the church where Martin Luther King preached. It's a really cool neighborhood to explore if you get a chance.

DSCF1129.jpg
Old 4th Ward Fire Station.

DSCF1146.jpg
I spotted a striking girl at the Ponce City Market which was the old Sears building. The light and subject made for this photo.
DSCF1147.jpg
Notice how just a sliver of light hits her eye. I moved her face into the light that looked "rad" and then snapped the image.
DSCF1153.jpg
Just inside the entrance I noticed light pouring from the outside, it was defused soft light...so I grabbed a shot of Ricky for his Tinder profile page.

DSCF1166.jpg
Ponce City Market and a flock of birds in the sky.
DSCF1171.jpg

The last shot of the day and the end of the ride. We rode 14 miles in total, drank a beer, ate fried food and talked shit. A good day.

Sort:  

Really nice. I love those photos.

There is no doubt I need an X1. I am in search mode, haven't found one with in 50% of what you paid, but I will....

Hey BigTom! Thanks for the comments. I am willing to sell you the Fuji and lens for what I paid for it two months ago. I hate to let it go, but I have some other camera gear I need to buy for work.