Lily Learns Spanish Through Food: Bollos de Cardamomo (Cardamom Sweet Rolls)

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Today’s recipe is a spanish lesson and baking adventure, for me anyway.  In a post a bit back I shared that we purchased quite a few cookbooks in Spanish one of them being a bread book.  Partially in preparation for @modprobe’s mansionwarming party to come, I’ve been trying things to see how they’ll match up for the party.  I picked these rolls, supposedly a Swedish creation dubbed Bollos de Cardamomo.   

For the sake of saving time and effort, I’ve included photos of the pages from the book about this recipe.  I took awhile to translate it to get the technique, which is proving to be a great help with learning the language.   

What you need: 

Dough: 

390g flour 

210g milk 

75g butter 

3-4g yeast 

4g salt 1 teaspoon cardamom
 

Filling: 

Handful of pecans 

75g brown sugar 

.5 tsp cardamom .5 tsp cinnamon 

75g butter

It starts with melted butter and milk, allowed to cool so it’s lukewarm.

 Add the yeast and combine until it’s dissolved.

Add 2/3 of the flour and combine until it’s a shaggy dough.
 

Add the sugar and cardamom and mix until well combined.   

Then add more flour bit by bit and knead for 7-10 minutes.  Allow to rise in a warm place for an hour.

This addition was actually a variation of the original recipe, but I couldn’t help myself as I’m somewhat in search of the perfect pecan roll.   

I blended them until they looked like this. 

Added the sugar and spices and combined that.    

I used my mixer to combine the pecan sugar mixture with the butter until it’s a paste.   

 

Once the dough is double to triple in size, punch it down and roll it out into an even square. 

Apply the sugar filling in an even layer.  It won’t seem like it’s going to cover it but it will. 

Fold the dough like a letter, in thirds. I rolled it out to make it flatter and started cutting slices. 

I cut about an inch off the dough in a strip. 

Twisted it up, and rolled it into the final roll shape. 

It makes between 12-20 rolls depending on size.    

 I did an egg wash, just beating an egg and brushing it over the rolls.  Sprinkle brown sugar on top and they’re ready to go. Bake at 250 degrees celcius for 10 minutes or until golden brown. 



 

These were awesome, way better than even I expected.  I don’t have much personal experience with cardamom but this has definitely made me want to experiment with it more. Just try this out and tell me I’m wrong. I considered making a glaze but I’m glad I didn’t, the light sweetness is just enough for these. 

  
 Thanks for following and supporting, until next time!
 
 All photos were taken with my Nikon D500 camera with standard 18-55mm lens.

Sort:  

I'm drooling a little looking at the closeups of those perfect twists! That's great you're learning a language through translating recipes. You get rewarded after the translation with a tasty treat!

It is the best way to learn things.

The instructions are detailed. It looks so delicious. Nice on.

Loading...

This looks really good. Thanks for detailing the preparatory steps.

hungry :)

wish I could get the warm smell when they are just out of the oven!!

it's as ears

Porque entro a mirar esto a la hora de comer?!

Hola excelente tu post te invito que conozcas el mio y me regales un voto, gracias un Abrazo Gigante desde Bogotá Colombia @ferchomusic

Such nice shots. Makes me hungry.

Woow! How cool! They looks fantastic! I love your photography!!