SUNSHOWERPRINTABLES Breaking News - Baby Turtle (3 Photos)

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

We now take a break from your regular SunshowerPrintables mental health programming to bring you these adorable pictures of a baby painted turtle!

This adorable little peanut was camped out in the middle of the road that winds through the park I usually walk through. Normally, I would have left him alone because I know baby turtles need to struggle to the water on their own... but with his poor choice of temporary residence (and a short lull in the traffic) I chose to move him so he wouldn't get run over!

I kid you not, this little guy was the size of a quarter! If I had one in my pocket I would have taken a photo of the coin next to him for comparison! He was also covered in dust and dirt which means he must have been brand spanking new! I checked around the area for any siblings but didn't find any.

So after a mini photoshoot, I took him off the road and placed him a short distance away from the edge of the pond. Under a tree and hidden by some grass, I last saw him hanging out near the water happy and safe! Best wishes little guy!

<3 Lexie

UPDATE: I found 3 more siblings all over the park/road today. One was on the walking path so I relocated him as well (very active and determined to get out of my hands)! Sadly, the other two had been run over and their short lives were ended much sooner than they should have been :( I'm strengthened by the thought that although many will die ('tis the circle of life), I got to help at least a few survive another day!