Ripples

in #photography6 years ago


By the lake, in Finland

We are lake people. Our surface and depths remain peaceful at our solitude. Being here and now. Calm at the present. If only we chose so. We cause ripples and waves, chaos and turmoil into each other and into ourselves. It is hard to see through muddy waters. All that once was clear appears unfamiliar and strange. We panic, paddle harder and even splash around. As if any of that would help us, but it never does.

Water will clear again soon. Observe your own depths, know there is no need to panic, get scared of unknown or lack of visibility. It will all pass. Stop fighting you.  

Song of the day: Kiasmos - Looped

Sort:  

Yes, fighting yourself is very consuming as well as fighting others. I think we should let us be OURselves. I should be MYself, you should be YOURself and other people should have a chance to be THEMselves. We shouldn't fight ourselves and we also should let other people be themselves and not try to change them all the time. I always try to remember that...

Thank you for your comment @lindiry :)

When I wrote this it was actually meant for myself, because I do a lot of splashing around and fight myself a lot. It is draining my energy and therefore I am student of being at peace. Even if it takes my entire life, it is only way I see myself be myself.

Thank you, @m31, for this poetic meditation. I'd love to visit Finland, one day. There seems to be quite an interesting Finnish population, here on Steemit :)

Reading your reflections, above, two quotes come to mind:

"When God threw me, a pebble, into this wondrous lake,
I disturbed its surface with countless circles.
But when I reached the depths,
I became very still."

― Khalil Gibran

&

“Do you have the patience to wait
Till your mud settles and the water is clear?
Can you remain unmoving
Till the right action arises by itself?”

― Lao Tzu

Thank you for your comment @yahialababidi! :)

I was not familiar with these quotes. Thank you so much for sharing them.

I was visiting Finland for a week with group of students. Specially love the many lakes!

My pleasure to share, glad they resonate :)

Thanks, again, for sharing visit & wise words 🙏🏼

Hello friend .. I loved that phrase (Stop fighting with you). I liked your message, you have a lot of reason, we have to stop fighting with ourselves and it exhausts us, we waste our energy and make our mood constantly irritable, because the only person responsible for how you feel is you, and if there are no paragons of arguing with yourself, there is no room for happiness and mental tranquility. THANK YOU FRIEND GOD FOLLOW FULL OF WISDOM AND BLESSINGS

Thank you for stopping by! :)

We are indeed responsible for our own experience, because there is no other experience, but our own.

Counter-voting pathetic @najoh's flag.
(He chose to flag @m31, who politely asked him to behave according to community rules, and not to spam on #general channel that is not meant for post promotion).

Thank you @gtg for all your support, amazing work you do on the blockchain! I deeply appreciate it.

I think so many people concentrate on wrong things and waste their energy on silly matters. That is of course their choice. Just wished people listened to voice of reason more.

We must relax, stop struggling, stop trying so hard, stop manipulating things and people to try to get what we want. Once we have become accustomed to stop doing so much (letting go) and just being for a while (enjoy the present moment), we can live a much happier life. If we become still in a muddy river, the mud around us will settle and the water will become clearer.

I think it is something ever person should master. Would be lot less struggling and unnecessary suffering.

Thank you reading @lifenbeauty! ^^

Hugs

Thank you. I should put this somewhere on the wall and reread it every morning.

"Stop fighting you." in my collection of M31 wisdom lands on the same age as "Prove that you can be yourself".

Just a thing for a sad polar bear.

Hugs

Why sad polar bear again? Aww

I am not sure it can be called wisdom. Can it? It is just exploration and discoveries. They might not always be for everyone.

Please, don't be sad! ♡

hugs

All is well. Was just some work stuff that I'm not cut out for. :)
Besides, sad doesn't even get much space in the cocktail of emotions I'm drowning in these days. chuckles

Never make a decision when we are angry, sad, in pressure or in sorrow. Always make a decision in a calm mind. Keeping our mind calm will show our depths.

You are absolutely right. Unfortunately people make a lot of mistakes with this, because sometimes they don't even realize that it is emotions speaking, not themselves.

I make these mistakes too. I am aware of them. My mechanism to cope usually is to withdraw, be alone for a while to figure things out. Sometimes it does not work out though.

really gorgeous photo... i love how you can see the water in the front and again beyond the people in the back..
i've been thinking a lot about this lately.. peace, and stillness, and how we can have peace while we are on earth within ourselves..
especially this last line... stop fighting you <3

Thank you @mountainjewel! ^^ I was going through photos on my backup drive and found this one.

The fighting part occurred to me last summer. Having issues with anxiety and I did not even realize or was aware I was fighting myself most of the time.

when the sunset in the west then the lake side look so beautiful. your photo shot the lake side just awesome. thanks for sharing.

Thank you! :) I still remember the feels of that particular evening. Quite magical mix with happiness. I get so careless of world problems when traveling. Just disappear in the moment and exploration.

i'm agree with you. because you have lot traveling experience. i think your said that experience.

I read that, and then I put on your song of the day, and read it again. The song continues now... Thank you for the experience. Such an awesome, slow, powerful rhythm.

One day, I have no doubt, I'll visit your country. As I mentioned before, my best friend lives there ;)

Thank you for actually listening to the song of the day @mandelsage! ^^ You are welcome to visit anytime, but summer time is the best time! Hehe.

super impactante el contraste amiga, muy bella imagen, saludos.

Muchos gracias! ^^

@m31 plzz vote and follow back

Nice

Thank you.

Hello friend very nice pos excellent me in love the writing very nice you see that it is a great country that I want to know, thank you for sharing that post with us congratulations greetings blessings

Hey. Thank you. I don't live in Finland. I just visited.

only the calm will clarify the waters the days and the nights, it is not necessary to blame of anything everything will return to its normality

Thank you.jpg

wow I like that and needed to see this
Just Breathe.jpg

I love that branch coming into the foreground. A good shot with a lovely text to accompany it.

Followed for more!

Really looking forward to visiting Finland in July this year!