Rust

in #photography5 years ago


Life sucks and then you die or nihilist blues

I have the oddest relationship with life. For the longest time, guidance was one of the things I struggled a lot with. What path am I supposed to walk? Supposed to? How do I succeed in life? What is a success? What is the meaning and purpose of life? Stroganoff. Somehow, I had bought the idea that it was the most important thing to have it all figured out and the fact that I did not have a clue what I was doing hurt every step of the way. Perhaps, those were the wrong questions to ask in the first place.

Life is a series of events strung together by tons of variables affecting each other in unpredictable ways. Some carve their way through life and make the variables work in their favor to get where they are going. Some are explorers and adventurers who take leaps of faith and see where it all leads eventually. The only thing I am carving is pumpkins.

The truths I found for myself seem dark at first glance. What is the first thing that comes to mind when someone says nothing really matters? Does this person need help? Maybe. Sometimes we all need help coping with life. However, those words seem soothing to me. There is a glimmer of hope tucked in them. Nothing really matters! I am having a hard time, my day is shit, I am clueless. Nothing really matters! Might as well let go of what has upset you. Look at the grand scheme of things. Zoom the fuck out! Nothing is worth suffering over especially since our time here is limited. We are here, might as well enjoy it, figure out what makes us happy and throw all the shoulds and don'ts out of the window.



And you know what really makes me happy lately? Raking the fallen leaves. Long walks and silent whispers. Skipping around in meadows. Connecting in the purest ways. Sipping coffee and listening to music loudly. Allowing myself to be silly. Dreaming of strange worlds soon to be explored.

















What makes you happy?

Song of the day: Gunship, Stella Le Page - Art3mis & Parzival

Sort:  

Mr. Spacely to the rescue...

I have a solution for you! :D xD

Every time you think about Nothing really matters, you will not think about that. Instead, you will think about this:

And, I hope that will make you laugh. :)

Spacely out. I gotta go save my people... Whoosh

Oh.. And what makes me happy? Supporting people makes me happy. Period.

Aww ahaha! You got a chuckle out of me! Nothing really matress indeed xD

Keep that awesome spirit of yours up! Thank you for cheering me up too!

And you managed to include all the beautiful #drystuff in your post..
I like to shoot them.. I guess that's one of the things that make me happy.
Plus the smell of rain.

@tipu curate

Upvoted 👌 (Mana: 12/18)

Thank you so much for you support @ewkaw :)

It was fun to try and spot different plants in the meadow and the color change there is so fascinating to witness. I guess I love shooting them too hehe

cuddle_hug3.png

Hey steemeow! Hug to you too blue kitty! >^.^<

Beautiful musings that I totally relate with. I also love sipping on a drink (for me it’s tea) while listening to music loudly. Hmm, what makes me happy? Tonight it was lighthearted conversations with friends, coming home to a perfectly made bed and brushing my hair while sitting in front of my vanity. I’m sure tomorrow my answer to this question will change. ^^

Thank you for sharing @vermillionfox! :) It's the little things I think. Sometimes they just get overshadowed by all the noise we forget to acknowledge them, but they are there, constantly change and make our time here brighter.

Exploring. Me i just wander about in my lost way and get all excited when i meet something awesome. I have nothing figured out and i basically stopped trying to direct my steps the moment i came out of the university. Life has been shitty but i have also had beautiful moments. I think ill continue to wander about until some lady drags me and makes me stand still.

It has been over two years since I have become a wanderer/ explorer myself despite the pressure from society and stuff. Since I began to understand how short time we have here and how little of it we actually get to enjoy. I am slowly letting go of the feeling as a failure due to fact that I have not built a career or something of the sort, because that is just stupid. There is so much more to life, to us as human beings.

That was really quite beautiful. Nothing really does matter. At least on an objective level. It's our mind that creates meaning for our lives. An idea that I've been thinking about lately is instead of trying to find meaning in our lives we can live a life that we value.

We basically attempt to figure out our own personal values, maybe through conversation or even from value lists found on the internet. There are lists of 100s of value words that can be found easily. We then break down the list into 2 groups - "important" and "unimportant." From there we can pick 3-5 values from the important list that we consider to be "most important" to us. Then we use those values that are most important to guide our actions and behavior in life.

Does this decision/action/behavior align with my value of (...insert value....)? Does the action take us away from our values? By asking ourselves these questions we can live a life of personal value. I'm just starting to toy with the idea but it's starting to make sense to me. People often behave in ways that are out of alignment with their own values without even realizing it or giving it any thought.

Thank you so much for your comment @leaky20! ^^

Indeed, people act in ways out of the alignment with their own values because they just get lost in the values of others, in the rules the society has assigned as norm and sell people the blueprints of how their lives should look like. Guess we just sometimes are not aware. We don't pay enough attention whether things align with our values or not and some haven't even explored what they actually stand for.

You are onto something there for sure :)

At the moment, a few minutes to myself would make me happy. Or, a few minutes with friends and a bottle or two of wine. Either or.

Hey I would love some minutes with friends and wine too! Hopefully we get to do this some time in future :)

Would be fantastic, I am tired of drinking alone :D

What makes you happy?

Bonds and connections, especially in the physical world because then you don't focus on the happiness thing because you are engaged with the world, then happiness comes without even realizing it. And this is why I'm so excited about Steemfest, can't believe it's just 3 weeks away! What?! :D

Oh absolutely know what you mean with engaging in the real world. It just makes us focus on now, what is in front of us now. I don't remember exactly who said it or the exact words, but it went something like this if you focus on the past or future you are more likely to be unhappy than when you focus on the present moment. And it makes sense too, people usually remember bad stuff over the good stuff more from the past and the future is just a lot of unknowns, that can cause us anxiety and stress. Now, in this moment we are more likely to be just fine.

Aaaa! So excited and also scared for the far/long traveling part, but that is so worth it! ^^

Beautiful posts

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hi @m31!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.503 which ranks you at #601 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 92 contributions, your post is ranked at #75.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • Try to show your post to more followers, for example via networking on our discord!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Great article @m31. I wanted to tip Crumble but I’m too late so I’ll just say thanks. 👍🏿

The only thing I am carving is pumpkins.

Not true my friend, you carved out a small section of my day that was spent in mirthful laughter!

As a constantly ruminating about what direction to trod little hobbit, one whom still doesn't know what I want to be when I grow up, I so hear you when it comes to randomly realizing that I am most happy in the moment. Who the hell needs direction when awesomeness is happening all around us. Right now I am canning blush colored applesauce and responding to you, all is well....

Thank you:)

Nice photos! It looks a lot like like the prairie here in southern MN. Winter will be here soon enough. It's always interesting how such pretty flowering plants get scraggly and tough this time of year.

As for the rest? Hrm. I've become pretty existential lately. Life's been a downward spiral since I got back to the US, but it is what it is.

The colors this time of year make me happy. Subtle yet rich, unlike any other time of year. Your photos sure do them justice, Thank you.

Congratulations @m31! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 14000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 15000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest⁴ commemorative badge refactored
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

And you were able to find a few flowers still blooming!! That's kinda cool. Nothing Really Matters.. hmmmm.. Your right.. that could go either way really. Giving up or just giving up worry. Interesting.

My wife, my puppies, and a few close friends to share moments with matter to me. I could give up painting, photography, art, steemit.. yada yada.. just to keep a few special moments on replay forever. Those moments that bring silent tears to my eyes and a twinge of joyfulness to my belly. Those moments don't happen everyday for me, but they matter and make life worth the effort. :-)

Also I like beer and coffee.. smile smile