Imaginative Photography #40 Jackson Pollock?

in #photography6 years ago

Look at these pictures I captured. I tried to make them look a like a Jackson Pollock painting. What he did with paint I tried to do with lights and my camera. Pollock was an abstract expressionist painter. He was well known for his drip painting. There has even been a movie made about him, has anyone seen it? While I am not suggesting that anyone put me in a category anywhere near Pollock, I think my pictures are at least different than most you will see. These pictures were done by downtown Sarasota, Florida. It allowed me to use many different light sources.  I had lights from buildings, signs, landscaping and cars that were driving by. You can see that some are not solid and look like a series of dots. These are the incandescent lights that are actually blinking on and off at 1/60 of a second.  That is because here in the USA our electricity is 60Hz. The human eye can't detect the blinking at that rate. It is called persistence of vision.  Google it.

 CAMERACanon EOS 40 DISO100FOCAL LENGTH75mm (120mm in 35mm) APERTUREf/6.3  EXPOSURE TIME8s (8/1) 

In this next picture you can see a little better where some of the light is coming from. This is from the same location as the first picture. You can see the green is coming from a sign that says "Gulf Stream" and some red from another sign. It took a lot of experimenting to get a picture that looks good like the first one. Notice the exposure time on the first one is 3 seconds longer.

 

 CAMERACanon EOS 40 DISO100FOCAL LENGTH75mm (120mm in 35mm) APERTUREf/9.0  EXPOSURE TIME5s (5/1) 

This last picture, which I don't particularly like was also taken from the same location. You can see more red from the car tail lights. So, you can see from the first picture which I really like to the last, you can get many different looks from one spot. It is very hard to make it look pleasing to the eye.

 

 CAMERACanon EOS 40 DISO100FOCAL LENGTH135mm (216mm in 35mm) APERTUREf/10.0  EXPOSURE TIME2.5s (25/10) 

Here is a picture of a Pollock painting - not mine.

100% my original work! Copyright 2018 ® Mark Vance Photography except the Pollock


 I am an award winning photographer and filmmaker. Many of my pictures have been used in TV Shows and Feature Films, such as "Zero Dark Thirty", "NCIS Los Angeles", "Scandal", "Blackish" and "The Walking Dead".

All my pictures are from one capture and nothing is computer generated, except where noted. Then it is only an inversion or an increase in saturation only, not a change to the actual content of the picture.

I hope you find my pictures unusual, creative and in some cases inspiring. Everyone sees something different in my pictures. Enjoy!

Sort:  

Great colour effects.

Wish one day I'd have enough to buy a Pollock ;)

If Steem goes to $100 you will. Lol

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @markvance to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Exceptionally creative photographs! I like them! Upvoted! Btw in the event that you like dolphins, look at my post I simply made

hi @markvance I like your photos. . Amazing! I don't know how to set up that on my camera. Will, it's not quite difficult for DSLR. I should learn from your photography. Thank you for sharing. Beautiful creativity. .

The hardest part of this is thinking what to capture and turn it into an abstract masterpiece. You just cant shoot a random stuff, anyone can definitely do that, you need to have an eye for something amazing.

You did very well on this one sir. Great job ..

wooowwwwww beautiful ........!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Very artistic photos! I like them! Upvoted! Btw if you like dolphins, check out my post I just made! :)

Really impressive, I did not know that you can create such photos. If I did not write, I thought it was paints, especially on the last photo. Thank you very much.

very successful photographs

very interesting post, the picture is very unique and cool

Wow !
Outstanding photography dear
Looking so nice
I like your post
Keep it up
@markvance

congratulations......!!!!!!!!!!!

Great photography man..... very creative person you are really awesome.....

Wow amazing photography my friend...I appreciate to your post..Thank for sharing your creativity...Carry on..

wow!! Your all photographs is very very beautifull and intrusting , and your creativity es very amaizing and such a more fantastic

Nice Photography

creativity at its finest best! @markvance

Wow !
notable pictures expensive
searching so exceptional
i like your submit
maintain it up

Upvote

Hello excellent publication. I follow you. I invite you to stop by my blog maybe something you like and you can help me with your vote. Greetings from Venezuela

you are a professional photographer and you proves i t

 6 years ago  Reveal Comment
 6 years ago  Reveal Comment