Na Drini ćuprija (The bridge on the Drina river)

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

The bridge on the Drina

This bridge have enormous value for us, because it represents the pain and suffering of our ancestors. At that time, it was a custom, to children been taken by Turkish soldier, and when they grow up then will be fight for then. That custom name is "danak u krvi".
prvi-srpskiustanak-5-638.jpg

"danak u krvi" if we try to translate it to english it would be something like bribe by blood

It's very momentous, and many stories are tied for bridge, so I divide the whole stories on several short blog because there is many stories, if you continued to read my blog you will learn how bridge got Nobel price, and what Robert De Niro did when he see bridge and Drina river and many other things.I will try to write one blog every day at least. Today I ll be writting some basic informations bridge.

Drina and Bridge

The bridge on the Drina is a heritage of the great vizier Mehmed-pasha Sokolović! (1505 - 1579) . The bridge was built in the 16. century a period from 1571 to 1577.The bridge consists of 11 arches, each built of stone, with lenght from 10 to 15 meter. The total length is about 180 meter.
The bridge was repaired five time,mostly damages made in wars. Major renovations of the bridge have taken place in 1664, 1875, 1911, 1940 and 1950–52. Three of it's 11 arches were destroyed during World War I and five were damaged during World War II but subsequently restored.

Damage in WW2

In 2007 the bridge was inscribed in the UNESCO world heritage list. The bridge is located in Bosnia near border with Serbia, and Tara mountain.

Nice weather in Vishegrad

Turkish soldier was situated in main gate at the middle of the bridge.

Main gate

Thanks for reading, continiued with follow and you ll find out many interesting thing about this bridge and my lovely Serbia. ❤ .. I am still learning English and I would be so gratefull if you could correct me.

Sort:  

Nice post neighbour.
Greetings from Bosnia!

Stunning photos and I really enjoyed the history behind the structure.

me to...in the next post, I 'll tell more details about it, and story about Mehmed Pasha Sokolovic