What are the best tools for new photographers?

in #photography7 years ago

I want to start taking pictures. Not the selfi-duckface-Iphone-pictures, but the really good ones. Preferably professional pictures.

Now, can you help me and tell what tools, e.g. software, I should use in the beginning?

I heard about 17HATS. What is your take on this?

Thank you,
@martinmusiol

Sort:  

do you have any experience with a DSLR?

I want to buy one. But again, I have no idea what camera I should buy. Do you have some tips for me? Thanks

the camera is the least important thing. so just buy whatever you cab afford. just go out and shoot images. get used to framing and lighting. if your looking for a little more conrol you could experiment with manual controls on your phone.

Good idea. I have an IPhone 6s which actually does all of it by its own. But maybe I can do the setting manually.

First you have to decide what is your shooting style and what subject you consider most interesting.

Then you have to decide how much money are you willing to spent on the photo equipment.

After that, we can start with the advices :)

Here are the best two tools you'll ever learn in photography. Composition and Exposure. Learn that and everything else is just trimming.

Some other advice:

-Try and shoot during the golden hours - One hour before sunset and One hour after sunrise.

-Technique is more important than equipment

-Glass(lenses) are more important than cameras

-Cameras are more important that software

-Dynamic range is more important than megapixels

-Lightroom is all most people need

-Photoshop is more than anyone needs

-Think about what the foreground, middleground, and background interest is before pushing the shutter button

-If your photo's aren't good enough you aren't close enough.

@randystiefer thank you. This is rich!
Golden hours: taken into account.
I will work on my technique and also photoshop skills.
Unfortunately, Photoshop is not as easy and straight forward as I thought.
Again, thank you.
--> I follow you now!

Congratulations @martinmusiol! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!