Orange forest fungus/mushroom.

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

89664433-10b1-4fb5-a387-10d74ecb659b.jpeg


Found these beauties while on my run through the forest. Always pass by them and wonder what they are. There are tons of them growing mostly on tree stumps and logs.

Tried to do some research and the closest I could find that looks like it could be is "Hygrocybe miniata" also known as Vermilion waxcap. Not sure that is correct though.

if anyone knows anything about this mushroom would be great to find out more.

#FungiFriday


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

No clue what they are! But they are definitely cool :)
Thanks for participating! Happy Fungi Friday!

Look at that color. They're beautiful! 😀

Nice find! I would love to eat them! Haha!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I think I need to first do some concrete research before attempting to eat, lol dont want to take any chances, The little I did find out does indeed say they are edible, but will find out and make 100% certain, will keep you posted.

Right! Better be safe first. My friend told me if they look nice and colourful, they are probably poisonous.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Beautiful mushrooms

@ewkaw thanks. maybe someone else will shed some light. have a great weekend.