myday #68 - These people swam 12.24 miles!

in #photography7 years ago

Hello Steemians!


I went down to the beach in the dark just as the first wave of runners entered the water. They were about to participate in an ocean swim from Cottesloe Beach to Rottnest Island located off the coast of Western Australia. The open ocean event was a grueling 12.24 miles (17.9 kilometres)!

Being so dark I bumped up my Canon 1D MK IV's ISO to 8000 and relied upon a videographers video light to capture this shot.

image

The first wave of swimmers departed and I waited around for the next run of eager participants to enter the water. I really enjoyed photographing everyone as contemplation and anticipation appeared on their faces. The Sigma 120-300mm performed well in the low light.

image

image

image

image

image

image

The last chance for warming up arrived and final stretches and hugs took place.

image

image

image

Then they were off!

image

image

image

image

I'm Leigh, from Sydney Australia and through steemit I'm seeing what its like to explore myday. Not in any particular order, or particular time frame but just parts of myday through my eyes and sometimes the cameras lens.

Follow @myday

LeighandGrace002.jpg


Introducing Steem Photo Awards - 100 SBD in Prizes!

I wanted to let you know about the new Steem Photo Awards I'm putting together. There are so many talented photographers here on steemit and through these awards I hope to highlight some of their talents. If you are a photographer or know someone who is interested in photography, tell them to enter. I'm giving away 100 SBD in total!

Steem Photo Awards.jpg


Sort:  

Seeing them run off into the water is so cool! The light on that shot you got of the women's start is amazing, did you have someone hold a light? REALLY cool effect

There was a cameraman from a news channel with a video light. I just made sure I was using spot metering and exposed for that light while having a fast shutter speed. It worked in the end. Thanks for commenting @flybendor. I really appreciate it.

These are some incredible pictures! I loved your work!

Thank you for the kind words @firepower. I really enjoy capturing people's emotions. Cheers for commenting!

Really nice clicks..I wish to join that photo contest
1.png
Feel Free To checkout my blog : https://steemit.com/@sumayia

Upvote Resteem follow.gif

This post received a 2.9% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @myday! For more information, click here!

18km??!! Wow!! That's intense!!
Great photos!! Awesome atmosphere!!

Certainly is intense. One of my friends actually swam back too - that's double the distance! She's an insane swimmer!

Whaaaat? That's madness - the good kind though ;)

Certainly is!!

Excellent photography. I love the black and white & personality in each capture!

Is this like a triathlon or ironman race???? @myday

@littlenewthings it's just a timed swimming race that draws

And it is not even Spring yet @myday !
facebook_horror_face.png

You have superbly captuted the excitement before the swim. Bravo!

Thank you for the very kind words @irreverent-dan! I appreciate you taking the time to comment.

This post has received a 4.43 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @myday.

Beautiful! This looks like a great place to go!:) Please check my little journey that I made soon. I hope you enjoy my photos. @nakedchef89

https://steemit.com/travel/@nakedchef89/travel-challenge-10-krushuna-waterfalls

Thanks for commenting @nakedchef89

Congratulations @myday! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Well done to the swimmers that is a long distance! You've captured them very well too you can see the concentration on their faces!

Thank you @margojensen! Yes there was a sense of calm in their eyes and they all focused on what they were about to do. Thank you for your comment

Nice :)

Thanks for commenting

You're welcome :)

Yes it was a fun shoot. I really enjoy photographing people in natural environments. Thanks for commenting @phamxuan1