Levitation Photography Still Blows My Mind (A Few Money Shots)

IMG_20170521_142748_918.jpg
Mortal Kombat: Finish Him!

One of my favorite go-to styles of photography is levitation shots.

The first time I saw a levitation shot years ago, I was mind-blown.
I couldn't understand how the f*ck it was taken!
But I was captivated by the story it told...to me, it was magical.

During our shoots,
I would always challenge my staff photographers to perform levitation shots.

Here's a look at some of my favorite pieces we shot this year-
I did the styling and creative direction... my top shooters produced the visuals.

Some of these visions were planned, and some were spur of the moment:

IMG_20170522_155026_743.jpg
Gatekeepers only, fool!

IMG_20160306_105701.jpg
The force is strong with this one

13827367_1049462645109145_1842352985_n.jpg
Don't get carried away...

IMG_3362.jpg
Sometimes you miss the train and can't wait for the next one...

IMG_20160621_090522.jpg
Magneto Xmen vibes

Sort:  

That's awesome. My sister did a shoot like that once... she said she had to use a chair to prop the person and then Photoshop the chair out... Is that how you do it too? No need to share the secret if you don't want too... just curious to see if that is how a lot of people create visual effects like the person is free floating. (referring to your piece free floating).

Hey Karen,
There's actually so many ways to achieve shots like this!

For the train picture, we used a stool.
But the rest of the shots shown were done purely by capturing a jump / pose in mid-air.
:)

ahh gotcha! Thanks for sharing :)

Definitely the last one Rocks !

haha, thanks man ! One of my favs too