Moar Of Barcelona

in #photography6 years ago

We spent a whole week in Barcelona last month and only now I start to realize how much the city has to offer.

At the time of visit, the schedule is tight and you don't have time to pay enough attention to a particular subject.

When I browsing through photos and read on Wiki about the building or statue I learn something new. About country, history or architect.

20180418_174934.jpg

Like this one for instance. We were walking by the street and I took this photo not knowing what it is.

Its name is The Plaza Monumental de Barcelona I find out today.

20000 spectators, Torero, and the bull.

It was the last place in Catalonia where bullfights were held since the Parliament of Catalonia passed a law banning bullfighting events that came into force in 2012.

20180418_1748521.jpg

They have a Museum about bullfighting now, but if you ask me, they killed an important part of nations history. You don't need to agree but we are on the blockchain and free to express our views.

20180418_1721491.jpg

The Arc de Triomf is another one. It was built as the main access gate for the 1888 Barcelona World Fair.
Didn't you know that?
Don't worry, me neither. That's why they invented Google.

20180418_1729131.jpg

A view from the different angle.

20180418_1721121.jpg

Here is an example how to turn the street lamp into the real masterpiece.

20180418_1720191.jpg

A snail with a hat? You definitely need a lot of imagination and courage to make this and put it on the street with your signature on it.

20180420_1156551.jpg

This horse is from the airport. Another crazy artist at work.

20180419_181931.jpg

I have no clue where that is and what is the name of the building. Maybe someone from the audience will know.

20180418_1733281.jpg

Same with this one. Beautiful. But I posted it because of flowers.

20180419_2035451.jpg

I'm not sure if it is about bullfighting. We have some suspicious activities on the opposite side of the bull. I really hope it has something to do with mythology and it's not what it looks like.

If there is a historian around, enlighten me, please.

20180419_2036051.jpg

20180419_1834571.jpg

Just a short commercial break and we're done for today.

I'm not an expert, but they have some great beer in Barcelona.

Cerveza, they call it.

Cheers, and thank you again for all nice comments on my yesterday's post.

It means a lot to me.

I have more of interesting stuff for you.

Stay tuned.

Sort:  

Hope this is the best journey for you.
Happy joirney dear and one day I will also go there and miss you too.
This is wonderful experience for you and also for me.Have a good journey.

Wow Really outstanding photography....such a awesome photography...All photo looking good...Thanks for shareing this photo...☺✌

journey and your photography is amazing @oldtimer greetings from @mimam and I really like the picture images you post

Did the Monserrat and Cava tour with city guide joe. We had a great time. Joe is a great guide. He was very knowledgeable and had all sorts of tips regarding timing that enhanced our experience at Monserrat. Our bus had a party atmosphere after Cava. I don't think I am going out on a limb saying that everyone enjoyed the day.

✅Barcelona is cool. In addition to one of the city's best tourist destinations in the world, there is a Barcelona FC club, that I really very love. Barcelona is very nice. Thanks your sharing @oldtimer, about Moar of Barcelona, adding to my love for this country.

Poke @beladro and @sangdiyus

waoh,very beautiful photos,thanks for sharing

photography is very nice dear. and hopefully you are always in good health always. and i really need support from you my friend

photography is so amazing, I am amazed with your journey dear, I hope to be like you, have a nice day, I will upvote and restem

It is a very beautiful city. Green, beautiful people and nice old architecture. Thank you for sharing these moments and nothing better than a nice beer in a sunny day :)

Beautiful details that convey the mood of the city. I like this architecture.

Do you plan on visiting the beaches of Barcelona?

You have told History in spayol. The country of this castle is full of history I see the photos you show full of history. Many old buildings.

Wow. I wish I could travel as much as you do. 🙈 and i’m so jelly as Worldcup is approaching and you’re there in the country of my Team. Enjoy! 😊

Wow, this really makes me want to visit Barcelona!

You should do that. Thanks for stopping by, my friend.
You doing a great job here on steemit.

The place I`ve been dreamin of ♥♥ Thank you for sharing this @oldtimer

Those are interesting monuments you stumbled upon. The bull ring and the arch are both very cool. Interesting street lamp and a dapper snail. The horse statue is by the contemporary artist, Botero. I'm not familiar with those other buildings but the flowers are beautiful... no comment on the bull!

20180420_115639.jpg

WOW. You have much to tell us what BARCELONA!
you have traveled to wonderful places and made great pictures. Thank you for sharing these with us. there are really interesting details.
I loved!

Barcelona the city of my dreams, excellent photography techniques, the pictures are so beautiful @oldtimer keep up the good works

thank you.

Nice photography!!

Barcelona is a very nice place for many people to visit Barcelona and Barcelona is all curious to know all the information so thank you so much that you went to Barcelona and had a lot of ideas about your desire

great photography dear

The scenery is very beautiful, photography is very amazing, I like spain.
Re-Steemed

Ah. Good old San Miguel. What would a Spanish holiday be without it? 😊

Interesting selection of photographs @oldtimer. I don't remember seeing many of those places at all when I was in Barcelona.

I'm not sure if that's because I really didn't see them or because of my appalling memory! 😂

We spent a whole week there. You need to be quite organized to visit some of them.

We were there for five days I think @oldtimer. But there's so much to see it's not surprising we saw different stuff. 😊

Someone was telling me, the other day, that the powers that be are now limiting the number of tourists in Barcelona or plan to in the future. Probably not a bad idea.

nice shot. so beautiful pics.

it is a beautiful photography! enjoy

wow perfect, a beautiful photo. want to visit there

Yes, it's really difficult to choose the place to explore when we have tight schedule because probably our list have many but sometimes time and schedule never allows, but in my opinion you chose great place to explore and this place is really sounding historical. And in my opinion the bullfighting was one of the famous and traditional games in many countries and some support it some are against it, but good to see that this place is historical and associated with bullfighting history. But truly speaking the great thing of this post is, the picture which is consisting amazing and breathtaking bunch of colourful flowers, which overtaking the attention of that Amazing architecture in background of these flowers. Thanks for sharing this post with us and wishing you an great day. Stay blessed. 🙂

Hai @oldtimer
a very nice city, I hope one day can visit there.
Upvote

good, wait for your more stuff, thanks .

You're welcome.

very interesting travel. beautiful Barcelona

No Sagrada Familia? hehe :D
I remember my first trip there, during the excursion with my highschool. The big park with colored tiles and snake figures. (cant remember the name) and Sagrada Familia always stays in your memory.

Barcelona as a whole is amazingly beautiful. And all the shop owners apparently know every language imaginable, so you feel right at home. haha

I'm not done yet. ;)

I have been to Barcelona a couple times. I missed out seeing its bull-fighting arena. But I was recently in Madrid and surrounding areas. They still present bull-fighting here and on any given Sunday. It is still big business. Where bullfighting is concerned, I would side with kindness over tradition. If the situation were reversed I would not want to be the bulls. Perhaps a more compassionate tradition might replace bull-figthing. But I also do not think it is my decision to make. The arenas and city squares bullfighting has created are wonderful places to be at other times. Much cultures still is performed:)

Wishing you a wonderful day, Old-timers ... if that is indeed your real name:)

Thanks for the kind comment. Didn't know about Madrid. From what you said looks like only Catalunya banned bullfighting.

Nisam do sada videla tako suptilnu, prefinjenu i nežnu svetiljku na ulicama. Zanimljivo je kad nehotice slikate ljude koji se slikaju. :) Kapija je fantastična iz bilo kog ugla, ali se iz drugog vidi više detalja, a i koliko je bicikala, iznenađujuće. Nisam uočila kružni oblik, Arena Monumental, lepa je fasada. Svaka slika nova priča...
Previše je informacija, ne treba sve pamtiti, napuniće se memorija, a nema nadogradnje. :)
Pravi ste promoter mesta koja prikazujete. Hvala vam @oldtimer na postu.

Thank you very much.

Wow! We stayed near this building with eggs on the first photo! Thank you for a brief history of bullfighting.

all-deals-emoji-yummy-face-cushion-pillow-1_1024x1024.jpg
Lovely photography .
tenor.gif
Hope you Enjoy .
Thanks for share this pictures .
Resteemed it .

The only thing I do not like about my country are the bull rings

Barcelona is a great town; so many art museums and fabulous architecture. Everything by Gaudi is magical. And the Ramblas!