Sagrada Familia

in #photography6 years ago

One of the main attractions of Barcelona is the Sagrada Familia basilica. It's an unfinished church which construction started in 1882 and they expect to be finished by 2030.

I was planning to write a good and long post about this masterpiece of architecture but when I checked it out on Wikipedia I find it way to complicated for my writing skills and my knowledge of English language.

I don't want to play a smart guy here. Check my photos and go to Wiki. You'll learn some interesting new stuff about the history of an old country.

I decided just to show you the photos I took that day but even this part of my job is kind of not good enough. The building itself is too big and streets too narrow to get a decent shot.

20180418_190551 (2).jpg

20180418_191528 (2).jpg

20180418_185348 (2).jpg

20180418_190919 (2).jpg

20180418_190256 (2).jpg

20180418_190117 (2).jpg

20180418_190817 (2).jpg

20180418_185436 (2).jpg

20180418_190346 (2).jpg

20180418_191120.jpg

20180418_190817 (2).jpg

We didn't book our tickets on time to enter the church but. Maybe next time. Who knows?

I don't know much about the history and architecture but I can give you a good advice if you ever plan to visit Barcelona.

Don't drink, eat or buy souvenirs in at least 300 meters radius of Sagrada Familia. You'll pay double or even more.

You can say a prayer or two if you want, though. That's free of charge.

For now.

Stay tuned, my friends and have a great week.

Sort:  

you really took great photos of these buildings , so wonderful and you always did great job , thanks .

I have been there but the waiting line, even in the morning, was more than 100m, so I went to the Gaudi Park instead...

Very beautiful architecture and a masterpiece of Art.
You have always to pay double near museums or historical places. Happened to me in Turkey. Even for water you have to pay double or triple.

I visited Barcelona and loved it... Didn't get to see this in person though :o

Those are much better photographs then the ones I took when I was there @oldtimer. Sadly it was raining and the Sagrada Familia was covered in scaffolding.

Hopefully I'll get a chance to go back though. 😊

howdy @oldtimer once again you are giving us magnificent photos so great job! I saw a 60 Minutes segment about this church, one of the most amazing shows I'd ever seen about the most amazing church and architecture! maybe you can go back when it's finished!

I have never seen this church before, ever, but that entrance looks outstanding! I have to google who designed this later on. Although there were probably many brilliant minds involved.

What is your native language, may I ask?

Slovenian.

Huh. I never would have guessed!

Why this church is unfinished ?

Use google as I suggested.

I think photo number 3 says it all! You captured it beautifully with the cranes in the sky. Its as startling to see as the Burj Khalifa although a little more down to earth! The only other thing you may want to mention is the architect, Antoni Gaudí. He is buried inside.

I know, but I should do more research on the whole project first, which I don't have time. Thanks for the suggestion, tho.

An incredible great work of art! So many different details and motives in it. Amazing.

Hi, congratz, you are now listed on the Steemians directory. You can read more about this new initiative here: https://steemit.com/steemit/@anonyvoter/new-selections-of-june-25-2018.
If you like this initiative it would be great if you could resteem the post to make more people aware of it.
If you don’t want to be listed just leave me a comment and I will delete your profile from the website. As I just added you, your profile will stay visible on the homepage of the directory (https://www.steemiandir.com/) at least until my next update post on steemit.
Thank you very much for reading and I’m looking forward to your feedback!

WOw what an amazing place and heck I thought some of the construction project here took a long time but they are quick in comparison

@oldtimer is these places are very costly yo vist???

Que hermosa ciudad es Barcelona @oldtimer, espero tenga la oportunidad de conocer semejante obra como lo es " La Basilica de la Sagrada Familia."

Catholic churches have a mighty edifices but doctrines made of leaves and sticks.

what a great construction.!! just awesome..!

Wow that's kind of a church shaped as a sea castle, looks great! I love the structure that has is fantastic

Just amazing how they are still building Sagrada Familia all this years. Hope they will eventually finish it so they can remove the cranes. Great photos, @oldtimer

It will take quite a long time. But it has been made very good.

This more like our very own Simala Church and it is even more when paying souvenirs nearby. The overprices will kill you.

Some of my Spanish coworkers believe that this project will never be completed due to the complicated process used and lax work ethic. Hopefully it will finish on schedule :)

Your pictures still look good if even if you can't get the whole building in! It's so weird to think of construction going on for that long.

I was there about 7 years ago and it's weird to think it was under construction then, too.

Some steemians told me to use what's called a "wide lense" on your camera, or you can even get a cheap one for your phone on amazon or somewhere, and then it allows you to take pictures of really big things like buildings that are too tall.

If you have an iphone, I also found out you can do a panorama vertically and it will help you get the whole building in a shot.

I wish I had known this before a couple of months ago haha.