You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Big Fat Greek Vacation, part 1

in #photography β€’ 2 years ago (edited)

Hey hey! πŸ‘‹ Long time no see! 😁🌞 Thank you so much for your comment. I am trying to get back to blogging regularly here – and attending HiveFest in Amsterdam was a much-needed boost of motivation on that front.

Surprises?.. πŸ€” There were two big surprises, maybe:

  1. The levels of quiet racism directed to my girlfriend and her family (in Part 2 of my vacation post I will share more of our holiday together on Crete). I am not used to such hostile stares and quiet remarks, living in Estonia. I heard that Greece had very high levels of racism, compared to Northern Europe, but to experience it in person was very unpleasant and unsettling. πŸ˜”
  2. The lack of Ukraine's flags on display. πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡¦ In most of Europe you see flags of Ukraine, Ukrainian national colours, and messages of support and solidarity pretty much everywhere. Nothing of that nature was visible anywhere in Greece. I was told that Greece was aligned with Russia in the ongoing conflict and that was a surprising or even shocking discovery for me. πŸ˜―πŸ˜•