Though lost to sight to memory dears

in #photography6 years ago

I have a fascination with going to cemeteries to photograph various statues and monuments. There is something about walking through a cemetery reading names... It gives a sense of the peoples past. I know some thinks it's an odd hobby but I have learned a lot over the years from doing this, and it helps significantly with genealogy​. I'll start posting various things I like from cemeteries. How does your culture or area honour your dead?

I'll leave you with a quote I am rather fond of by Benjamin Franklin. I find it to be correct!

Show me your cemeteries and I will tell you what kind of people you have.

~ Benjamin Franklin

In memoriam of the children of A. & Eva W. Moore


​​
Bettie 01/12/1865 - 11/13/1879
Little Lucy 11/07/1877 - 11/28/1879
Lelia 03/31/1875 - 11/07/1879
Nealie 01/29/1879 - 11/16/1879

Cross Creek Cemetery
Fayetteville​, North Carolina

#fayetteville #northcarolina #statue #monument #grave #angel #alirivka #ozhiya

Sort:  

Going to places like cemeteries ...
I can think of death only and even it will make me run little off for days ...
Thinking of the death ,that i have to face it someday makes me feel weird and i try to ignore the fact ...the true fact i will taste someday...

frankly @ozhiya, when talking about my grave a little bit goosebumps, and I have no photos about the grave, because the funeral of our area a little haunted friends!

your post is very unusual @ozhiya

I don't think I could go around cemeteries and take photographs. And if I do that I'll get a few strange looks for sure

photography sculpture angel at the cemetery very extraordinary.i love your post. i am upvote and resteem your post.plees visit my blog friend.

Good jop friends

Its so memorial statue, thanks for your sharing to us, keep spirit, success always for you

Very good and cool friend

We don't use any statue in our cemeteries or candles or any or any ornaments. It doesn't belong to our culture. That's why when I visited a cemetery when I was in Europe, I was surprised by seeing thus statues ;)

very well-said by Benjamin Franklin
In our culture, people gather and their is a proper funeral, people pray for the dead and then at last, we bury our dead..

very well said obviously.
this pic are awesome
friends and family of the dead gather and pray for the dead.
after few hours, we bury our.....

Your pictures are so wonderful and amazing. But your posts scare me ?

in Indonesia there are 5 of religion, between 5 religion has a culture of each,especially in Aceh, respect people died in a way to pray, from the first day until the seventh day