"The Canvas That Paints Itself"

DSC03055-1.jpg


I find inspiration in many places
I'm never sure what I'll be able to put on the canvas
Imagine a canvas that paints itself
I'm just in the middle without making all of the art myself

Just the middleman, never more than just a middleman
Pouring out all the thoughts that I don't need
Sometimes it scares me when I look into your eyes
But if this feeling's taken over, then I don't know what to do

I find myself lingering on talking so much with you
It surprises me how I can honestly say that
This is taking over me as much as you
Great spirits enter my room late every night

I need a stroke from a brush
A glow from the moon
A beautiful sun-lit day
Then I'll show you the painting

Every time that I work on something new
I create just what's instructed for me
It's so frustrating when I'm trying to change things up
But it doesn't take long for me to realize
That these brushes are words in disguise

When the canvas paints itself on its own,
I'm the middle man delivering your message
I never know what I'm going to put on the canvas
“The canvas paints itself, I'm just the middle man.”

~*~