PV's Daily Log #17 - 3days update and WHY Alamy SUCK!

in #photography5 years ago

Hello Friends!


I made myself a little break from Steem and other stuff, focusing on family life and winter workshops on Lofoten Islands next year.

For those who don't know the idea of these Log's - I am going to describe my road to be independent photographer/freelancer or at least half/independent one ;)... all my actions connected with commercial photography will be described in this series of Log's, so if You are interested in the subject, feel free to read my previous posts and to stick here for a while waiting for next ones!

Let's see the fast update:

First of all - one of latest made panoramic work, which I like a lot:


_MG_1543-Pano-1-3.jpg
Click to view full screen mode!


And now back to the subject:

  • new stock account set up! Adobe Stock is my 7th micro stock account. Already approved and most of previously prepared pictures uploaded.
  • from my observations - 123RF.com has the worst user menu construction - I still don't know where are my photos after uploading, all goes to the Incomplete section despite the fact, there are completed, with all the descriptions and key words... seriously, maybe I am just a stupid user, but for me, navigation there is a one mystery.
  • New pack of photos prepared - 74 photos from Røros town - mining town from UNESCO World Heritage List - some of the shots in winter cover, some in many other styles - I hope for some good sellings from this pack, it is a famous place and my material is great in my opinion.
  • Photographic Workshops on Lofoten Archipelago - Hunting the Northern Lights - have a full set of description, galleries, sites, booking system and some paid promotions as well.

You can check it here, on my site:
https://www.asphotovisions.com/lofoten-tour

Or on Land of Light site about workshops in March:
https://www.landoflight.co.uk/section863303.html

If You are interested, just write!

  • In January, I have one person for now, in March, we have 3 on this moment.

  • And final thing - Stock page Alamy sucks! - I totally stopped doing any actions there - why? Read below the picture...


IMG_2767-16.jpg
Click to view in fullscreen mode

Photo: Wintertime in Røros


Why Alamy Sucks!?
This is only my opinion so don't take it as the only truth ;).

My experiences with this platform are bad.
6 other accounts on 6 different stock platforms I have working normally - when somebody buy Your photo - money are transfered on Your profile's account, when You gather minimum for make the payout - You are getting paid for the sold images - It is simple, honest and trust worthy yes?
How it is in Alamy? - Someone is buying Your photo - You get notification, virtual money are set in Your statistics, but You are not getting paid unless the customer won't transfer the money to Alamy for the picture...

In my case - I am waiting A FUCK'N YEAR already for the money, and still nothing. One of my best seller was bought for 180$ - 50% of this sum shoud goes to me - and still not a single $ was transferred on my account.
Other picture was sold for 55$ - it was 2 months ago - still no money were transfered to me...
You think it is good system? I think it SUCKS pretty much!
Customer service answer was, that they are doing what they can to get paid for the pictures - well, maybe they should try little more or change the system of payments?
I, as an author, don't have any confirmation, that I ever get this money - but someone bought my photo and used it, right? Isn't just a theft?

Oen more thing about Alamy - I got email yesterday, that from February 2019 the commision which goes to authors is going down from 50 to 40%... Great news - so 40% next year, maybe 30% 2020...and maybe 5% in 2022? You never know.
All things there are going to really bad direction for me.

Final opinion I will leave to You.


_MG_1411-Pano-1-4.jpg
Click to view fullscreen mode


OK, Thanks for reading, stay tuned for more if You are interested!
Write Your comments if You have any thoughts.

UNTIL NEXT ONE!!


<><><><><><><><><><><><><>

Any photo available as Digital Files. Join my Discord channel for details: https://discord.gg/ApdDcNh
If You like my work, check my portfolio site asphotovisions
Calendars from beautiful Norway on 2019 available to Pre-order on my site.

Thanks for watching and have a great day!


Upvoting, Resteeming and Following are the best way to show the authors that You like their work, it supports them not only finacially but what more important gives a huuuge amount of positive energy to create more interesting posts and work on future projects!

pv baner.png

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Never had problems with Alamy before, but I hate them cutting our commission by 20%. Adobe Stock raised commissions recently to my surprise

You never had such delayed payments? I am worried because such a payment system can be very harmfull for someone who is counting the money from month to month... It means, that someone can buy Your photo, don't pay for it, and all the support You will get is "we are trying the best" ... This is not the way how Stocks should organize payouts for authors. For me it is not acceptable. Thanks fro Your comment @jpphotography !

No, they always pay me automatically once my earnings are over a certain threshold (50€ I believe)

OK, this is of course done, after it reach the minimum, but I am talking about payment for sold photos. People are bying the photos and paying to Alamy in months... a year in my case, in such situation, I have a report about sold photos but no any money on my profile's account. This is the main problem of the system they have. How they can sell photos and not getiing paid from clients?

So you are saying that they sell photos on installments? I think this hasn't happened to my photos

I don't know how they sell, but the fact is I should get 133$ for my sold photos and until now, I got 17$...since a year...


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thanks a lot for support!

This post has been upvoted by @photomag and it's curie curation trail after manual review
Please join the community and become a photomag curator in the @c-squared discord server and vote for the @c-squared witness here .

Nice, many thanks!

Have you joined Stocksy?
It is made from photographers and I think it is the most fair one, with very high quality too.

Thanks for info, never check it out before, I will now! :D

Hi @photovisions!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.881 which ranks you at #4188 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 325 contributions, your post is ranked at #313.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Resteemed, and great to see you back! :)