How to take awesome images

in #photography6 years ago

A lot of people asked my how I became a photographer, and how I learned mastering it.
A common misunderstanding is, that good images come with good equipment. Thats bullshit. Good equipment is only really useful in "extreme" situations which is in 95% of the images I take NOT the case. Most of the images I publish could also be made with a smart phone camera ;) haha

Now, let me explain how good images are created:

image.png
This pyramid show what skills are needed in order to take good images. This can't be learned in a few days. I go up this pyramid since more then 10 years and still didn't reach the top.
I would myself put at the "Image Idea" level.

To get on a new step you have to be a Master on the step before. And by Master I mean Master and not just understanding it. Each step relies on the step under it, no exceptions.

1. Understanding the technical stuff about photography

This is of course the most important stuff. If you have a good DSLR camera, stop using the AUTO mode and switch to Manual mode. What does shutter speed, ISO and so on mean? How do they interact with each other? Whats the difference between RAW and JPEG. You must be able to use your camera blind. You have to know whit settings creates which images.
You need to know in which light situations you need to use which settings without getting a blurry image. There are enough tutorials for it ;) Go educate yourself :)

2. Understanding light/shadow and colors

After you are a technical pro with you need to dive into understanding light/shadow and colors. What are soft shadows, what are hard shadows? What is color temperature? Which colors match and which not? Why are soft shadows better for female portrait photography then hard shadows. Why is it a bad idea to take images at 12:00 AM. How does a face look when the light comes from below instead of above? How are shadows casted on a face with different light sources and angels. Whats soft and hard light? What are warm and cold colors and how do they affect an image. How do different colors have an psychological impact on the viewer? Go ahead and learn it! :)

3. Image composition

When you reach this step you have to learn about the background and subject in your image. Where does my model have to stand? In which direction should she look? Blurry or clear background? Are my lines straight? Is the "rule of third" usable for this image. What has to be in the background and what in the foreground? Where should the light come from?
Which angle should I use to take the image? What "look" do I try to create? On this step you might want to try copy images from other great artists in order to master it.

4. Image Idea

This is like the last step but try to come up with your own ideas. Thats were I feel I am right now. Try to create unique art that you don't copy anywhere. Try new settings and idea and reflect after it why you failed horribly :)

5. Own style

I cant tell you much about the top of the pyramide since I don't reached it yet. So I tell you what people told me who reached that point. They said Its about all the other steps underneath it. Its about which rule you want to break in oder to create new unique images. Some even say If you reach the top you have to forget anything you learned before in order to develop your own style. Haha. Mindfuck ;)

Sort:  

To become Master in this field we need a lot of PRACTICE by using the above pyramid. It really helps us by all means

PRACTICE makes Men PERFECT

Even I'll practivce more whn I'll purchase a DSLR this month. So, I can say this guide helps me a lot, especially 'Manual Mode' tip.

I always got confused with light/shadow because I hardly pick up when the shadow is hard or soft.

To get an image idea and own style both are playing an important role in your art this is what why people admire your photographs. This thing spice up your image more than a random DSLR cause you can add spice in you art using even smartphone.

To cut in short, this guide really really helping me. Thumbs Up for you that you get some time to write up here. :)

it's really helpful for photography lovers like me thank you for sharing this valuable experience and information with us.
u always share something Really Informative keep it up @rockz

I am a beginner photographer and when I started I said "Is not hard , you have just to aim and click" , but now I understand that is not like that. If it took you 10 years to reach "Image ideea" , I think I shouldstrat right now ,to reach the "own style" before die.
I posted a photo , you can see here
I know it is not high quality , because I don't have high quality equipment , because money.... But I will invest more in the equipment in the near future.
Thank you.

thanks for the tip

teach me too bro

Thanks for teaching

Wow! What a wonderful article I'm going to read here on steemit? This is the best guideline which you provide to the newbies who are yearning for learning photography skills. The pyramid pictures is really what which have to be followed by every photographer because just taking pictures isn't enough to become a photographer as many of the users on steemit says they are photographer but no, even hell no.

How to take a picture and where you have to take in which angle all are important things which really needs to be considered to become master on it.

I knew it is hard to take high quality captures but I had never thought that is so hard. If it took you 10 years to reach "Image idea", it will take me a lot of time to reach the top of the pyramid.

I just posted a photo The moon

I know it isn't high quality.But to take more quality photos I need a better equipment and I have to invest more time in this. Now I don't have high quality equipment because I have not enough money...

welll rockz before this post i was impress by ur photography skilss but with this post we can also do the same thing thanxs for sharing these great skills with steemit family!

Thanks for share much more information about photography.

well amazing please share something about night mode photography .. loved the post restreem

When I read these lines I said to myself, did I take into account even once these steps I do not take pictures
I need one to pay attention to the picture frame was the location of the shadow and sun proximity and distance from the thing to be photographed only
But there are some shots you should take the picture in the penalty of the second Do you put these things seriously

I must say that I really enjoyed the sincerity and encouragement you gave.... certainly gave me food for though bcz i love to shot

I guess, the biggest newbie-failure is "light" or how to position as a photograph.
I see so many ppl who takes shots agains the sun and such things.
Espic. for decent cams or smartphonecams light/sun is essental for proper quality. It takes a while to "see" how to ;)

There is nothing wrong with shooting against the sun, when you try to accomplish a picture who can profit from that. But in most cases the result is pretty useless :D haha

Wah, you shared very informative pOst with us which is so long to read but I can say this is worth to read.
ThOugh I am fond of sketch and even I made numerous sketches of different people as i ma just at initial stage

after making sketch I nee to capture them using camera to post here on steemit thats why this guide going to help me.. thankyOu!!!

Thanks for sharing your information! i like it and appereciate your work I wish you all the best

Hi rockz.. You wrote your 10 years experience so wisely and perfectly in a pyramid for newbies.. The thing about you most impressive is your sharing and caring habit.. Thank you so much.. I am really thankfull to you for the knowledge you shared.. I thought before how a good photographer is succeed to show some special idea and situation in his shots.. Now i can understand it clearly.. But actually it is time taken and practicing matter and depend upon that how your experience and practice made yoy to show your imagination in your shot..

Thanks sir for sharing this about photography this pyramid really help us to take awsome images I will 100% follow your pyramid steps.

when people asked me, I say photography is a passion

you have written basic rules of photography in a very simple and common wording. These words are so helping while photography. I like your blog and learnt many things. Thank you

oh i thought it was just taking images with a camera but a professional photographer like you really work hard in taking images.I was thinking of buying DSLR then i will follow your steps for taking images.
Thanks for sharing with us :)

Special piece of guidelines provided by you , but as all say that "Practice makes a man perfect", so if a person practices more what he/she love to do.

So he can surely be successful one day ....

yes this is so true..
practice makes a man perfect but for becoming great photographer i need DSLR and for that i have to work very hard.. and hope @rockz you will help me in getting success???

@rockz your photography steps are very helpful to me because i am also doing photography and i never knew about these steps.
But i think besides these steps we need some practise as well :)

Love your post @rockz. Photography is indeed your thing. Been a while, seems you went of the grid.

Nice knowledge in chart

@rocks excellent post i think time matter a lot in photography