You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Read before you post anything new on Steemit: The Basics of Copyright.

in #photography6 years ago

Thanks for tuning in. In my honest opinion, a lot of people are not aware that they are stealing. They see the photography tag is trending most of the time and automatically assume that when they use this tag on Steemit, they will earn some quick bucks. That is problem one, the simple mind of humanity.

The other problem is. A lot of people seem to not understand or know what copyright, intellectual property is, and that every thing on-line is 'free' to use. Music, Artwork, Logo's, Website, Texts, Photographs, etc.

Just because we are (professional) 'content creators', we know what our rights are. But if a teacher assumes we know everything that he is teaching, there would be nothing left to learn. Right?

So a solution is to teach, spread the knowledge and ease with the temper (wrath of the content creator).
About Google, YaHoo and Bing searches... I'm not really fond of their "re-use" policy. But I do like the reversal search function Google offers. Trackbacking is great to see where your images are being used on-line.

Sort:  

Yes, so posts like ours can help in general - I hope.
I was just talking to someone on my post about what we can do about it - beyond just talking more and more about it. She was talking about steemcleaners, but that she had problems with them when she reported someone. (She was talking about the blatant copying of another blogger's posts.) That gives me less confidence in using this method.

Too bad about Google, etc, "reuse" thing, though I was still under the impression that most (if not all) of what is featured on Wikipedia is okay to use. Maybe I'm wrong though. I guess where there is still so much confusion even amongst those of us aware of the issues, it's hard to expect everyone else to do as well!

I did recently discover that nearly all the online good photos of a small village where I used to live, were mine. :-D (So far, used legitimately, as far as I can tell.) The problem with trackbacking is that where I have literally 100s of images out there now, it's hard to check them all!

Thanks for the discussion. The more we talk about it, the more we make others aware.