Sort:  

Have you ever found and eaten these mushrooms in the spring?

Funny you ask, I was just chatting with someone about Morels the other day.

I was living out in Montana for a while and they used to grow all over the place.

More recently I went up to Northern Michigan a couple weekends ago with my girlfriend and we were chatting with a couple in the cabin next to ours. We were talking about Sleeping Bear Dunes and the wife said she and her husband go Mushroom hunting there and it was hilarious he got all upset at her and was shushing her. I started joking with them because I thought they were takling about psylosibin mushrooms whcih I found odd as they were an older couple, but since the cat was already out of the bag they told me they hunt morels. Apparently people are really secretive about their mushroom hunting spots

Yeah people are secretive about it because if you have good spots they pretty much come up there every single year without fail.

My parents have some spots like that on their property why all we have to do is keep checking there around the right time of year and then eventually you will be there and suddenly there are 20 of them.

Wow!!! It's crazy to think that there are even bigger ones out there too!

They look very interesting did you find out what they are called?

Not really sure, I'm pretty sure most of the mushrooms that grow around me in our yards are poinonous. The only mushroom I feel I could confidently identifiy and eat would be a morel but they grow more in Montana, Wyoming, maybe the Pacific Northwest and Northern Michigan.

Very soft-looking mushroom you have there, thanks for showing them. I have never seen such things :) That's what I like about Steemit: every day you learn new things :)

Wow you can almost sit on them :)

beautiful basidiomycete fungi, @rulesforrebels.

special mushrooms. like umbrellas. mushrooms can eat.