College Graduation Ceremonies are Highway Robbery

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I recently graduated college and was glad to get it over with. The only reason I went to the ceremony to walk across the stage was for my parents. If it wasn't for them I would of been fine with my school mailing me the diploma and calling it a day. But I signed up for the ceremony and was astonished at what my school was charging students to take part of the graduation.

The first scam was the cap and gown you need to purchase. I purchased four items:

  • Cap
  • Gown
  • Tassel
  • Stole of Gratitude (fancy name for a ribbon sash)

The grand total for these items came to a little over $70! And here was the kicker: I got to keep the cap, tassel, and sash but I had to return the gown back to them. That's right, it was just a rental. When I went to pick up items I noticed my gown had hair all over it and smelled funky. They didn't even wash it from last year.  Also, if you don't return the gown to them after the graduation they will withhold your diploma and charge you per day until you return the gown. 


The fun was just beginning with my school. After the ceremony I received an email from GradImages saying my pictures were ready to be ordered. I logged on to the site and couldn't believe what I saw. They take about four pictures of you and completely splash the picture with their logo so you can't grab them from their website.  



If you wanted to receive all four pictures you'll be paying close to over $100. Otherwise single prints of one photo cost around $20. They are sure to remind you that the frame is not included.


But it just kept getting worst and worst. To purchase a DIGITAL COPY OF ONE PHOTO cost $35. 

Then once you select your package they have the goddamn balls to charge you for photo touch ups costing upward to $20 for each touch up. This was quite the racket they had going on here.



I searched Yelp and BBB of GradImages and saw they had scathing reviews from customers. They only had one star on Yelp and $2,500 claimed lost by customers. Customers posted pictures of the frames they purchased for over $100 mailed to them with scratches and cracks. Some customers said they've been dealing with disputes from this company for years; others just took the lost. 

GradImages is one of those companies that can't continue doing this to customers. I am disappointed that schools would hire a company with such ridiculous prices and reviews. And to charge it to college students who don't have much money and are most likely burden with student debt.  This has to stop.

Sources:

https://www.gradimages.com/

https://www.yelp.com/biz/gradimages-tallahassee

https://www.pissedconsumer.com/grad-images/RT-F.html



Sort:  

Yea my sister recently had the same shit with the overexpensive photos here in austria.. she ended up just scanning the ones they sent her and sending them back haha