First Trip Abroad: Costa Rica

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

It's been a cold winter in Brooklyn. Cold, gray, and pretty much miserable. This made me all the more ready to jet off to warm, sunny Costa Rica. I'd been counting down the days for a while- each night I would happily cross out another day on the calendar, until finally FINALLY there was only one day left!
For me, this trip was extra special. It would be my first time out of the country. Before I left, I couldn't quite grasp the idea that while it was freezing here in NY, it was a tropical 90 degrees somewhere else in the world at the same time moment in time.
I could barely contain myself as I boarded the flight, especially after seeing that everything was in Spanish! At this point I realized I was actually going to be in a foreign country sometime soon.

DSC_0452.JPG

The plane took off early in the morning. It was a long flight, but eventually the sun came up and I was able to see the beautiful views of Central America from the window.

DSC_0457.JPG

About to land!

DSC_0622.JPG

I got off the plane, and was ecstatic to realize that it was HOT. Supeerrr hot. I immediately switched out my oants for some shorts. We waited in line after line after line, went through customs, and I got my passport stamped! We then went to pick up our car, looking forward to (cough cough) the 7 hour drive ahead us. After a long night of driving- and I mean LONG, especially since we ended up getting lost and drove 3 hours out of the way- we arrived at our first destination. We had driven all the way from San Jose to a remote town on the Southern Pacific coast.

DSC_0717.JPG

Palm tree playing limbo.

DSC_1000 (3).JPG

Taken on a large rock. You can barely make out the mountains in the background.

DSC_0800.JPG

Me and my brother about to be swallowed by the jungle on our way to a sunset surf.

DSC_0623.JPG

Many more pictures coming. I'll be talking about surfing, driving, food, and speaking Spanish.

Muchas gracias por leer. Pura Vida!

Sort:  

Hi, thx for sharing. I love your trip. Photos are amazing. I would recommend you try using SteemitWorldMap and it can be promoted easily on their @steemitworldmap Travel Digest.

Thanks so much! How exactly do I use the steemit world map?

Ok, it is a bit old guide (don't waste your voting power) but it is still valid.Guide.

Epic shots, looks like you guys had an awesome trip ! Look forward to seeing some surfing action !

Got lots of them coming your way! It was an incredible trip!

Great shots. I look forward to more pics.

Thanks puddlejumper! Another post should be up tomorrow night:)

This is a wonderful work @serenadanielle. Thank you very much

aw thank you!

Hello serenadanielle,

@SteemEngineTeam would like to take the time to thank you for

signing up / https://steemengine.net/join
and participating in our community. Your contributions and support are important to us and we hope you will continue to use our platform.

We plan to give back to our community members, so have an upvote on us!

Thank you.

Did you take all of those photos!?

Yup they're all mine:):)

except the ones of me lol

Congratulations @serenadanielle! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @serenadanielle! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 900 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @serenadanielle! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest⁴ commemorative badge refactored
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @serenadanielle! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 HP as payout for your posts and comments.
Your next payout target is 50 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the March 1st Hive Power Up Day