Ninth highest mountain in the world Nanga Parbat, Pakistan

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Nanga Parbat is the ninth highest mountain in the world at 8,126 metres (26,660 ft) above sea level. It is the western anchor of the Himalayas around which the Indus river skirts into the plains of Pakistan. It is located in the Gilgit-Baltistan region of Pakistan and is locally known as Diamir or Deo Mir (deo meaning "huge" and mir meaning "mountain").

Nanga Parbat is one of the eight-thousanders, with a summit elevation of 8,126 metres (26,660 ft).An immense, dramatic peak rising far above its surrounding terrain, Nanga Parbat is also a notoriously difficult climb. Numerous mountaineering deaths in the mid and early 20th century lent it the nickname "killer mountain".

Location

Nanga Parbat forms the western anchor of the Himalayan Range and is the westernmost eight-thousander. It lies just south of the Indus River in the Diamer District of Gilgit–Baltistan in Pakistan occupied Kashmir. Not far to the north is the western end of the Karakoram range.

photo by Aqsa Mughees

AAEAAQAAAAAAAAffAAAAJDQ5ZjhjNmU2LThlMjctNDIwNS1iNGMxLTg3NGQ5MmJmOWM2Ng.jpg

 Follow Me Upvote Resteem

DQmNh4Z6HDANtpYduSzwgaNvurWSa2XZ1C4ih4tCkkt6iWy_1680x8400.png
Source https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nanga_Parbat
picture souce https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/some-most-amazing-places-visit-pakistan-before-you-die-aqsa-mughees

Sort:  

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
http://topics.revolvy.com/topic/Nanga%20Parbat&item_type=topic

  • Nice Post
    Hello, I am Dhinchak POOJA (Artist - Singer - Youtuber) . am 24 year Old, from INDIA.
    **I Followed you---
    FOLLOW ME: @dhinchakpooja
    Screenshot_15.png
    I am new here
    I hope you can support me, I really like being able to share with all of you, thank you for welcoming me and giving me much encouragement to be able to continue within this steemit community.