Winter Photography - Mycology and Flora

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Captured before the snow fell here in Montreal, on Mount Royal. There's a whole world hidden in the little things.

Artist's Bracket

Ganoderma applanatum AKA Artist's Bracket captured on a Nexus 5.

Choke Cherries

Prunus virginiana AKA Choke Cherries captured on a Nexus 5.

Sort:  

Cool shots, dude. The texture in the first one adds a lot to the image, and I like how the background on the second one is blurry -- really makes the 'choke cherries' pop.

This post caught my eye because of "Mycology" being in the title. I watched a really cool podcast that you might dig, if you're interested in Mycology.

It was on the Joe Rogan Experience (as much as he is kind of exhausting, he asks some good questions and has good guests all the time) with Paul Stamets.

This dude is seriously blowing my mind, as I've always felt that there's something really interesting going on in the world of mycology. Coupling that with the shoutout to Stamets on the new Star Trek Discovery with the spore drive, I've been having a lot of fun learning about this stuff.

Long story short -- cool images. Keep up the good work. Start eating mushrooms.

I actually just listened to that episode the other week! It truly was mind-blowing. Paul Stamets was an incredible guest.
Thanks for the encouragement. I'm a big fan of this tiny world as well; I always found it fascinating.

Haha yeah I just watched it around then too. I was eating a portobello mushroom burger while I was watching it, and had to stop because I thought my sandwich might know what was going on..... But then I started again, because it was a super good sandwich.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @simgooder to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!