Hey There Little Bear!!

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Hey my fellow steemians... I have been absent for a few days as I am getting all the gear ready to begin flying, exploring and filming the Rocky Mountains from Montana down to New Mexico over the winter months. Should be exciting and yield a lot of beautiful images and footage. 

In the interim as I wait for gear to arrive and get setup and the weather to get in the right conditions for me to begin, I have been exploring Montana on the ground. This place is one beautiful country!!! So I am posting some of the images I took from these terrestrial excursions. 

I went on one yesterday and I found this little critter while exploring the wilderness area around Bowman Lake in the Glacier National Park in Montana just south of the Canadian Border. I was looking for a place to cross the stream and all the sudden out of the bushes strolled this critter. Walked to the middle of the creek and startled me! I backed into the bushes and got the camera out and then it noticed I was there.

It walked back to the creek bank and slowly sauntered along while keeping a close eye on me. I think both of us where curiously optimistic that we would leave each other alone LOL! Then it walked back into the bushes and I skedaddled back up the hill and out of there as quick as I could go!

That is one healthy looking bear! Looks to be pretty young and I cannot tell whether this is a black or brown bear. I would say it is pretty near to hibernation time as today we are under a severe winter storm watch so I'm sure if not now, at least soon it will start making its way to some snug cave somewhere to sleep through the winter! 

Pleasant dreams little critter!!! 

These images are from my ongoing project in which I am trying to raise awareness of the 47% of the USA and 90% of Canada that remain unpopulated wilderness.  

Where Eagles Fly - The American Wilderness Expedition is my personal mission to introduce people to these amazing locations that surround us.  

If you like what you see here upvote then resteemit so that others may experience these wondrous places as well. And if you'd like these images to be part of your feed then follow me. 

Yehaw!!   

 

Sort:  

Great bear pic

It was Properly Shot.

Nice pictures. Last time I saw a bear, I was in Alaska. We got really close to them with the help of our guide. Good work @skypilot

Awsome photography and beautifuull nature 💙💙
always be happy my friend 💙💙

magnificent :)

Thank you brother for your support!

Lol it looks so tiny in the second pic. And cute.

Haha, we encounter brown bears on a daily basis in the cities near the Carpathians . It's a bit sad though, they come to eat from trash cans, thankfully ,there aren't a lot of incidents.

Awesome photo with those Autumn colours.

Awesome man keep going !!

Excellent photography! Not everyone has the opportunity to live the experience you had to see such a beautiful animal is their habitat. Thank God you saw it without danger. Greetings and blessings.

Great photos! Such a wonderful place, and looks like quite the experience.

Luckily there was river between you and the bear :) While bears are good at swimming 😉

very nice photo shot @skypilot
the beer looks quite small maybe bcos you took the shot from a distance...hybernation you say due to winter... maybe its stocking enough fish to last him during the hybernation stage... nice one dear...

Nice picture! Keep on Steeming!

Looks cute, from afar... lol. Love the second shot where I can see the trees and turning-autumn vegetation - beautiful!