Sorm Clouds Moving Towards Me on the South Dakota Prairie

in #photography6 years ago

 When flying in the back country wilderness sometimes I will just land in the middle of nowhere to take a break or camp for the evening.  I don't need an actual paved runway, just a flat spot a few hundred feet long. 

Once I land I  can sit for a bit, relax and have lunch, which is what I was doing the day I lensed this image of a large storm coming across the South Dakota Prairie.  

Autumn comes early up here and the grasses were already turning  brown. This marks the beginning of my best time of the year to film, when it gets colder.  

I like the perspective this image presents, with the mountains on the  distant horizon and the layered clouds from the oncoming storm  dramatically darkening the sky. 

This is another image from my ongoing project in which I am trying to raise awareness of the 47% of the USA and 90% of Canada that remain  unpopulated wilderness.   

Where Eagles Fly - The American Wilderness Expedition is my personal  mission to introduce people to these amazing locations that surround us.    

If you like what you see here upvote then resteemit so that others may experience these wondrous places as well.  Yehaw! 

Sort:  

amazing your photography @skypilot.

Is that of the Badlands?

No this is to the southwest of the Badlands

Wow, did you use any natural density filters on your lens to take this?! It is astounding . love the blues :O

Thank you. Yes I used ND and polarizing filters on this image. Glad you like it!!

Great to hear that my guess was right! :D sweet job once again mister @skypilot

This is so natural in nature @skypilot the photography was a wow

Thank you so much! Glad you like it.