Where Eagles Fly : Turtle Time ~ Camping Out of a Bush Plane ~ Alone in the Backcountry Wilderness

in #photography6 years ago

Camping out of my bush plane while flying, exploring and filming for my project has very distinct advantages, especially if you like the solitude and peacefulness of being alone in the wilderness. And to show a bit of the experience of camping out of an airplane solo, here is a short film I made on the subject.

These images were shot while I was camping on Lookout Mountain in northeastern Georgia on the Turtle Time area between Mentone, Alabama and Cloudland Georgia

This is about 45 miles or so south of Chattanooga, Tennessee. If you do visit the area, be sure to drop in to the Wild Flower Cafe and say hello to Moon Beam, the owner, tell here Z says hello!! She will love to meet you!

This land is one of the many privately owned areas that has been preserved by the owner to protect and conserve wild lands on their own. One such group that is very proactive in this arena is the Nature Conservancy

I lensed these images and this film as part of my ongoing project, "Where Eagles Fly";


About The Project

Where Eagles Fly - The American Wilderness Expedition is my personal mission to introduce people to these amazing locations that surround us. I am piloting a bush plane while exploring and filming throughout the remote back-country areas of North America to raise awareness of the 47% of the USA and 90% of Canada that remain unpopulated wilderness.

About The Author

My name is Zedekiah Morse and I'm a Bush Pilot, Photographer, Explorer and Filmmaker. I live in the Rocky Mountains and devote my time and resources to exploring as much of the world as I can by air. If you wish to watch a short film detailing how I do my work and this project, go here.

If you like what you see here upvote and resteemit so that others may experience these wondrous places.

And if you'd like these images to be part of your feed, follow me.

Thanks for your support and Yehaw!!

Sort:  

What awesome work! I’m totally new to photography but playing around a bit and using steemit as my medium. Let’s support and follow each other on this awesome platform and revolutionize social media with quality content!

Looking forward to connecting with you.

Steem on!

solitude is a good thing especially if you are long term thinker, i love the sunrise photo as you see the sun rays behind the clouds, its awesome and beautiful, . this photos makes me wanna go for a vacation in deep wild territory

I revel in solitude, it is clear and unobfuscated by the crushing craziness of societal construct! I highly recommend spending as much time as possible reconnecting with nature in wilderness! Thanks so much for your wonderful comment. Yehaw

incredible photos , and incredible way of life , a nit to resteem your post

Thanks so much Juan, I'm honored by your kind comments.

I had never considered plane camping, yet another reason to get a pilots license!

Absolutely!!! It is an amazing life experience, and I will be the first to admit it is not for everyone, but for those unafraid of adventure, this is truly an amazing way to experience nature.

are there established backcountry runways or do you just land someplace that appears safe?

Both, its a combination of known wilderness airstrips and sometimes just a flat field or saddleback on top of a mountain.

Amazing photos! Thanks for sharing @skypilot. Just resteemed!
Cheers

Hey thanks Gavin! Really appreciate that! With a little help from my friends!!!

Absolutely amazing @skypilot. What an amazing gift you have. To fly and explore where and when you want. You adventures would sure make a nice television series. Just breathless shots <3 <3 <3

Thanks, I am actually working on putting something together along those lines... but on MY terms. None this silliness that is prevalent this days.

I saw your message on steemit chat. Sorry, I have been pretty busy. But I have been enjoying your posts. I normally get to see a couple at a time then it's back to work.😂 I don't know what my password is for steemit chat. I need to dig it up later. See you in the air.

Wow, what an incredible sky! The freedom to be able to do something like this must be incredible, I can’t imagine the sights you have seen!

It is an honor, a blessing and a hard-earned privilege to be able to do this. Anyone can do it if they put their mind to the effort. And if you are so inclined I highly recommend getting your pilots license! And yes, I pinch myself everytime I am up there seeing these marvelous places, just to make sure this is not a dream! Yehaw

Haha I don't like flying too much so it's probably out for me, I have a drone license though ;)

The colors are amazing in this picture.

Thank you!

What awesome colours!
I love to see the different light around the world - thank you Zed!

Upvoted and resteemed :D

Thanks so much! Glad to see you taking the time to check out my work! Truly love your posts!

Thank you so much Zed! :D

Loved the video and photographs. I have spent time backpacking the Oregon section of the Pacific Crest Trail and I found that there is nothing quite like depending on yourself in the wilderness. Happy trails to you.

Ahh Redbone! Thanks so much for that my friend, and happy trails back at you... be safe out there!

good your post

Now that is what I call camping!
Always amazing, my friend!

...upvoted and resteemed