Zion In Winter

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

This is the Mystical Zion In Winter, I lensed this mysterious looking image of Zion National Park while flying over Mount Shunberg in February. 

The scale of this image is vast, each little dot on the mountains in the lower foreground is a large conifer tree. The bleeding color protuberance on the right side of the image is the Eastern Temple.  The vermilion colored mountain in the distance on the top left of the image is called Red Butte. You are looking a distance of 60 miles across the mountains. 

It was exceedingly cold on the day I took this image, because I fly with the window open all the way so I can swivel and shoot though the open air, the cold is tremendously biting. 

I am geared up for it with the proper clothing, my fur hat and very good gloves, but when I am in contact with the slipstream from the propeller wash it exasperates the intensity of the cold and permeates every pore of your body.  


I love the colors of this image. Taken in the late afternoon after the sun has set, the alpenglow effect glows with a bluish hue that mixes with the auburn, umber and magenta-vermilion colors of Zion. It is very cold and windy as evidenced by the curling clouds above the majestic formations.  

This is a 30" x 60" inch print on specially prepared aluminum. These unique prints are super lightweight and easy to hang. Also available on acrylic and framed with all sorts of very cool materials and styles. 

This print reproduction provides an awesome window into the stunning wilderness of Zion National Park and is certainly not an image you can simply walk up the path or even climb a mountain to attain.  


This image is from my ongoing project in which I am trying to raise awareness of the 47% of the USA and 90% of Canada that remain unpopulated wilderness.  

Where Eagles Fly - The American Wilderness Expedition is my personal mission to introduce people to these amazing locations that surround us.  

If you like what you see here upvote then resteemit so that others may experience these wondrous places as well. And if you'd like these images to be part of your feed then follow me. 

Yehaw!!   

Sort:  

nice

Snow, mountains, endless clouds. I like everything here. Especially the vast expanses.

I am completely smitten by vast landscapes! Thanks for checking it all out.

Dude! You have done it. Captured a gorgeous picture of Zion. It's by FAR my favorite national park, but I've only ever been in late Spring. Even the Angel's Landing hike doesn't offer a view quite like this :)

Yep, I too love Zion... that is one very special place. And I agree... It is a very different feeling when viewing these places from up here. Thanks so much for your support! yehaw

This is a stunning photo. It took a lot of perseverance to do this photo. I can only imagine how cold it was...

Thanks so much!! Yep it was really cold, but I really don't notice it too badly because I am so into the scenery!

wonderful work!

What an incredible shot! We live on such a beautiful planet! Congrats and success with your ongoing project!

Thanks so much and I concur! We truly live on a remarkable planet... we just need to treat it with a bit more respect imho.

beautiful landscape! :)