Patterns on the Lower Part of the Window of Daewungjeon Hall in Ansimsa Temple

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

One of the characteristic element in Daewungjeon hall was the patterns on the lower part of the window of the hall. It was easy to miss the characteristics of the patterns of the window.

There were lots of drawings on the lower part of the window. What I'd like to introduce is some of drawings were not related to Buddhism, moreover, they seemed to show a very close relationship with the culture came from Confucianism.

Especially the orchid is believed as the symbol of the Confucious culture. Of course, the lotus flower showing the symbol of Buddhism was drawn under the orchid though, It was a first time to see such an interesting arrangement in the temple patterns.

P8250268.JPG

P8250269.JPG

There were other wildflowers, I could not identify the name of the flower among them.

P8250252.JPG

P8250253.JPG

P8250270.JPG

P8250271.JPG

There were lots of paintings on the wall and the beam of the hall.
I was so interested in the frog painting sitting on the leaves of the lotus.
I could not interpret the meaning of the frog, it was the first time to see the frog picture in the temple.

P8250290.JPG

One could say I am too much concern about the small things, but in my experience, Buddhism is the religion of the symbol. Every paintings, patterns and sculptures have its own exact meaning.


Sponsored ( Powered by dclick )
Steem의 실제 생활 용도, 협동조합이 어떨까요 ?

국제정치와 국내정치를 이야기하고 있었더니 스팀가격이 폭락을 했다. 선물거래소 백트가 들어서면 ...

Sort:  

It's so interesting to learn the culture from your posts @slowwalker)
Is there any coincidence that a lotus picture hangs under each picture of a different flower?

yes, that was one of my question that I could not solve the problem

Loading...
Loading...
Loading...
Loading...

Wow sir @slowwalker this all captured is really minf blowing.. Nice to see

Posted using Partiko Android

Loading...
Loading...

@slowwalker,
Those wall paintings are so beautiful! Nice photo collection of it!
$trdo

Cheers~

Congratulations @theguruasia, you are successfuly trended the post that shared by @slowwalker!
@slowwalker got 8.38827000 TRDO & @theguruasia got 5.59218000 TRDO!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Loading...
Loading...

Pick on someone for posting a meme. Preach about #newsteem and come fishing for upvotes from the biggest circle jerk/self voter on steem. Well played hypocrite.

@downvoteme,
I don't believe @slowwalker's posts are not worthy to have a decent amount of STEEM rewards. So I always supports his contents. Anyway circle jerk or not, I don't care, but I wish he will change his voting patterns too!

Cheers~

Loading...
Loading...
Loading...
Loading...
Loading...
Loading...

All of the paintings are beautiful, but what I love most is the floral painting.Moreover, all the photos you photograph are very pretty.!

Loading...
Loading...

@slowwalker, There are different types of drawings. I agree these paintings are not related to Buddhism. It's new paintings to me. I don't know more about Confucianism. But with your experience you can discover it easily. I have never seen before Frog drawing from any temples. This is a first time I see like you. I don't know why they draw from image inside hall in Ansimsa Temple.

Loading...
Loading...

I Really Enjoy trying to Figure out the Meanings in Patterns, Thank You for Bringing this To us @slowwalker. The Frog on the Pad is Interesting.......

Loading...
Loading...

Interesting drawing. I am no expert but The lotus starts its life in the mud, grows until it breaks the surface of the water, where it is changed from the plant to the flower. In Buddhism like many Asian religions the Lotus is a symbol of rebirth as a better person. The frog is an amphibian that moves from living in the water to living in land. The frog is seen in some Asian spiritual schools as a symbol of transition or transformation from one stage of life to the next.
I believe the combination of the frog and the lotus symbolizes the growth and transformation or transition of a person from a lowly creature living in the mud to a much better person now living on the top of the water and perhaps land. The mud and land being metaphors for living a good or bad life or a dirty or pure existence. That would be my interpretation of this frog on the lotus juxtaposition.

Thank you for your explanation.
Yours looks perfect on the lotus and the frog in this picture.
Your imagination creates an anther dimension of interpretation.
Once again thank you

Loading...
Loading...
Loading...
Loading...

All the patterns are nice. Yes, every pattern has its own meaning.

Loading...
Loading...

Interesting drawings, I wish I could visit it. Maybe soon 😜

Loading...
Loading...

There are beautiful decoration of wood, I believe everyone would be happy to have such beauty at home too. Because of the temple and that it is a place where people will gather together Artists spent much time to make it eye catching :)

Loading...
Loading...
Loading...