The Truth About Tree Planting in Ontario’s Northern Wilderness 25 Unique Photos

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Tree Planting ain’t for Tree Huggers. It’s 2 and a half months of brutal off grid, tent camping, bug infested, tear making time of my life.


100% @solarguy content, photos and life.

I knew what I was getting into as I had sold army surplus to dozens of tree planters the years prior. I was well aware of the hardships ahead of me. Or so I thought. It didn’t matter because at the end I was $12,000CAD richer. Which helped me get to China.

Let me take you on a little photo and short video journey of my time in north of the Great Lakes where I lived in a small tent for two and a half months.

I have to start with the mosquito's. The insects were the most brutal thing I have ever had to deal with in my life. One could not breath without inhaling bugs. They were dive bombing us at every moment. Even in our tents we needed to spend a few minutes killing them before we put our head down or the buzzing continues.

Can you see those black dots? Each one is trying eat me.

If any skin was showing for even a moment this was the result.

We started with over 60 planters many of us rookies. We ended with less than 35, as so many dropped out due to the hardships or injuries. Some were just homesick. Our group traveled from Thunder Bay in a caravan of 12 vehicles including 2 buses and a transport truck. We drove north for 7 hours. We planted at 3 different sites but we spent the most time outside of a small beautifully quaint town called Mantouwadge.

This was my home for 2.5 months. It was great. I pitched my tent on flat gravel and dug a small ditch around it. This is the best spot to keep the rain out of my tent. It wasn't the softest but it sure was good on the back after bending over to plant a tree 2000+ times in a day.

This was one of the last days. Everyone that survived. By this time we had all bonded and had tales to share for the rest of our lives. This is everyone who was on the team, supervisors, tree runners, cooks and grunts.

We were paid $0.08 cents per tree unless we planted over 2400 trees per day than we would be paid $0.10 cents per tree. It sounds low but once you have the strength and the mentality you can plant thousands of trees per day. I peaked at 3226 trees in one day. My season total was over 55,000 trees. But I was by no means a great planter; I was actually average. The best planters did 5,000 per day totaling over 100,000 trees.

Getting round the site to and from the pick up spots could be several kilometers in between so we would need a ride some of the time.

We also got government tax breaks and bonus’s. We didn’t pay tax because we were working for the Ministry of Natural Resources to replenish Canada’s lumber industry.

We also got a 25% bonus (from the Federal Gov) on our salary for something called Remote Workers Allowance because our job so far from civilization. We lived off grid. No electricity except for the generator used to keep power the mobile kitchen. No cell phone, TV, internet and we had to drink purified water from a nearby pond.

Yes we drank from the nearest source of water which was a pond created by Beavers probably a little less than 10 year before. The Beavers long gone as it over grew into a swamp and pushed the fish out.

The closest thing to modern technology was the kitchen trailer which was powered by a gas generator to run the fridges and stoves. It was kind of loud which kept the bears at bay. We were in the heart of bear country. I saw them a few times but never got a good photo sadly.

The water from the pond was pumped into the trailer where it was cleaned by charcoal filter to take out the impurities and solar UV to kill and bacteria and stored in a huge tank. It tasted fine and nobody ever got sick. We had a shower tent that sometimes had hot water but it was usually cold. We also had a huge tent where would congregate inside with tables to eat and talk, get drunk when it's raining etc.

A couple photos of some of the best planters out there. They took home a lot more than me. They had been doing 3-5 years and kept getting better.

Living so far away from civilization it's amazing how well small groups of people band together in harmony. To be honest when you have no choice but to put up with those around people tend to get along better. We just deal with it. We were all sharing the same hardships and stories around the camp fire of the snakes and moose we saw.

Most of us were just crushed at the end of the day. The cold wet rain, the mud, the unending barrage of bugs.

The campfire was the only warmth. We got to dry out our boots and socks.

To plant over 2,000 trees you can not stop to swat bugs, you can not stop to wipe sweat and tears from your eyes, if you do you get covered in mud. This was near the start of the mission. My beard is short and you can see I have been touching my face to chase the bugs away. I had to put tape over my ears to keep the bugs from going in them

I tried covering up all my skin, which got quite hot the harder I worked. By the start of July I had to take it off and face the bugs, which switched from the mosquito's to Horse and Dear flies which take chunks out of you.

Compared to this photo which in the last couple weeks of the mission. My character has changed as well as my appearance. I have a whole new appreciation for hard work and dedication. I will never consider a job to difficult to do again any job I am asked to do I will do it, I will try and I will succeed. It was life altering.

In this pic on my left eye I got hit in the head by branch as I was crashing through some brush the day before. It nearly knocked me out, I got dizzy, and nice war wound bruise.

While living in the wild the friendships you can make are life long bonds.

Once we got to our site we needed to have everything required for the day. food, water, trees etc. There were no trips to camp which was an hour a way. There were no canteens or shops.

We needed tree runners with ATV's to bring us trees when we ran out if the trails were too rough for the trucks.

Here I am planting a tree.

The million dollar sunsets were awe inspiring..

The priceless blue skies that went on forever with marsh mellow clouds passing by. The only sound was the occasional airplane.

If you have a few more minute please check out my videos.

This is my incredibly covered in mud, surrounded by mosquito's bragging about my successful day.
36 seconds

Here is a quick peak at camp and it snowing, wet snow.
30 seconds

Well I hope you learned something about tree planting. It's really not a bunch of hippies playing the bush. They would last a day, well some lasted a couple weeks. Its hard work, period.

Best time of my life. I made $12,000 in 2.5 months and many others did way better then I did.

Got any questions?

promoted a couple bucks for a good cause


Shared on Twitter Just for kicks.

I hope you found this article interesting and unique.

任何时候来投票都行 我所有的票数是100% 倡导可持续发展的未来

More of my life in China
https://steemit.com/food/@solarguy/christmas-eve-dinner-in-dalian-china
https://steemit.com/cats/@solarguy/please-don-t-feed-cats-to-you-dog-lol-nuggatized

Some of my Opinion article.
https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@solarguy/how-i-cashed-out-steem-for-the-first-time-and-nearly-doubled-it-in-17-days-with-proof
https://steemit.com/censorship/@solarguy/legitimizing-fake-news-and-calling-out-the-crap-in-mainstream-media
https://steemit.com/life/@solarguy/i-ve-been-so-busy-curating-this-past-week

Other posts from my Sustainable Future Series.
https://steemit.com/green/@solarguy/biodegradable-plastics-are-set-to-change-the-world-green-alternatives
https://steemit.com/life/@solarguy/prickly-pears-they-ain-t-just-for-eating
https://steemit.com/science/@solarguy/growing-organic-spirulina-at-home

Sort:  

Hello @solarguy!

It gives us pleasure to inform you that you have been chosen as a featured author by the @robinhoodwhale initiative.

Learn more about the Robinhood Whale here!

If you wish to support this initiative, join the Robinhood Whale voting trail on Streemian. Every vote counts!

We hope to see you continuing to post some great stuff on Steemit!

Good luck!
~RHW~

Wow, thank you. First time I've been picked up by guys. It's pleasure.

And an Especial thanks for helping this post push above $2 bucks. I promoted it 2 and now I can break even, a little over. ^^

I will check you guys out in a jiffy.

The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone" Please check your wallet!

In my humble opinion your post is undervalued and so I'm making a small contribution.

Remember: I reward the best comments on all of my posts as well! @kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Thanks @kus-knee means a lot. I'm happy it broke even. haha

For me posts are always hit and miss. So it can be discouraging when they don't do as well as hoped. You made it all better. And I did enjoy the conversations that it lead too so I had that going for at least.

😉

That was amazing! I can't believe how hard that was on everyone....kudo's for all of you who dared to endure everything for such a wonderful cause.

thanks. I did enjoy.. It broke me down and rebuilt me better then ever. A whole new man, really.

thanks for reading.

😸

I am so glad you had such a wonderful experience of a lifetime. That would break down the best of them out there willing to give it a try. Looks like "Survival" skills sure came in handy.

thank for sharing Tree Huggers and workmanship @solarguy

thanks.
I shoulda bought a Bitcoin mining rig. haha. if only i knew what was then. 5 years ago!! haha

tree planting should be considered an international sport!!! like football soor socker or tennis! bether than gym fitness!
look how sexy the girls look planting those trees! =D ahahah

kids love to plant trees too get them involved to help in or from schools!!!

treeplanting girls HOT!! they are not afraid to get their hands dirty. and by the end of it i was ripped. lol Got home after all those months. took my shirt and my gf, at the time, was like "omg you'r so strong." that was a hghlight actually. lol

thanks I'm glad you enjoyed it.

lool all those sweaty tree planting hot sexy girls!
keep up the good job!! and nice posts by the way!
hey besides trees I'm also in solar so check my posts I'm following and resteemed this one too!

without a doubt i will check your posts out. followed !

Nice post @solarguy, lots of great photos of your excursion.

Thanks @justtryme90
Sometimes I want to do it again then I remember im 36yo and its really a "i'm trying to keep up with University bills" age type of people. I should have paid mine off. lol

Ugh, tell me about university bills! lol

I feel ya on that one.

I really loved your post! It is a great example of perseverance and growing as a person. I also liked how, despite how difficult it was you, wrote "best time of my life"!

I am now following you!

@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

thank you. long time ago i mentioned my tree planting life compared to struggling with steemit.
It was one of my first posts actually. lol

https://steemit.com/steemit/@solarguy/you-thought-steemit-was-tough

Dang, not bad 12k in 2,5 months. Gonna remember this when I need a quick buck! Good story man, enjoyed the read and the photos. Thanks for planting the trees!

I did spend about $400 to get started, tent and supplies to live in the bush. Solid boots cost the most but were worth the investment.

I recommend it to anyone as a life experience first then profit next.

Interesting that you put life experience first, I agree on it though. I've always wondered what a "throw yourself back into the wild" kind of experience would do to a soul.

I was a lucky cause i was a country boy, boy scout who grew up camping. So I was well aware of the hardships living in the bush before i went. But The demanding level of focus and organization to properly plant that many trees in a short time totally surprised me. My first day I planted 200 trees since I didn't know what to do. It took aver a month before I was fit enough, strong enough and smart enough to break 2000 in a day.

Haha, that's a fun fact right there. You live and learn, such a beautiful thing.

Wow: that's one helluvam experience! How did you get the job in the first place?

There are many companies across Canada. You can search it like any job online, "Tree Planting Ontario" and then just apply. All you really need to be is available to to live in the wild for a long time. They usually have hired everyone by April so apply soon as you can the job usually starts in May.

OKay, thanks. Which company did you work for?

Haveman Brothers tree Planting. Based out a little town near Thunder Bay.

Thanks!

SolarThings Andrew H tweeted @ 15 Jan 2017 - 14:49 UTC

steemit.com/photography/@s… #treeplanting is the top 5 most difficult #jobs in #Canada. See my journey on #steemit where bloggers get #getpaid

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.


Hi @solarguy, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads today/yesterday and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Cool thanks man. That's awesome. I'm glad you liked it. Got some good conversations out of it and a couple followers. ^^

Always good to see people respond to our posts. You're welcome :)

Damn just came across looking up tree planters in Africa, hell of a story!