Isolation Day 8 - First long walk, who stole all the sand?

in #photography4 years ago

Although I've been out for a short walk with Lola most days since being told to stay at home, the pooch and I have avoided our usual adventures. I'm not sure why really as ultimately its exercise; it just felt a little odd to do so. I've also been struggling with my back but slept in the spare room last night as the bed has a nice firm mattress and felt much better this morning, we headed towards the beach for a proper walk.

We got to the beach at around 08:30 and there were around half a dozen people dotted about about between us and the horizon. I wish I had taken my gloves as there was a proper chill in the air but it was otherwise beautiful.

IMG_1442.jpg

We stayed away from people walking the shoreline by keeping land-side of the dunes.

IMG_1443.jpg

A little further on I was surprised to see how the beach has changed in the past week. The shoreline has flattened...

IMG_1444.jpg

... and there's nearly a 2m ledge running across the back of the beach.
IMG_1448.jpg

I was approached (from a distance) by a lady who called over that there was a seal on the beach a little further up. Lola is an inquisitive pooch so I immediately put her on the lead and we continued our walk. We kept our distance from the seal so the photo is a little naff as it was at the far end of my phone's zoom capability.

IMG_1449.jpg

The seal was pretty chilled out and looked to be perfectly fine. It seemed to be enjoying the early morning rays.

Our local beach is known for its second world war pill box which seems to slowly move around. This used to be up in the dunes but has now come to rest half way down the beach.

IMG_1451.jpg

Just to give you an idea of how much sand has been shifted by the sea, here's a photo of the same location taken on the 28th February 2020.

IMG_1249.jpg

It was great to see some people out and about but also how respectful they all seemed to be with regards to space. People were generally giving 10s of meters between themselves and others. This was the same on route to the beach where people would cross the road if they happened to come across others. I was able to walk in the road for much of the 3.8 mile walk as there are so few vehicles on the roads around here.

Just maybe there will be a little more of the same tomorrow.

Sort:  

Anything inside the pill box, or heaps of sand?

Just sand as far as I can tell.

Manually curated by brumest from the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!