The Narrows, Zion National Park

in #photography7 years ago

Since I’ve started my first post with a photo of me at Zion National Park, I’ll continue with my favorite hike from there… The Narrows. It was the most amazing experience. You’ll be hiking in the Virgin River, through the majestic canyon that is a thousand feet tall.

You’ll definitely get a full body workout. Hiking against the rushing currents is great way to get your legs in shape and trying to hold yourself up with your trekking stick is a sure way to increase your arm strength. You’ll also be practicing your balance on slippery rocks. Full workout with a breathtaking view? Why do I even need my gym membership?  

A few things to keep in mind:  
Water temperature can get quite cold if not during summer. I was there during spring when the snow was melting, resulting in 40F degree water temperature. You’ll need to rent a wet or dry suit, else you could be at risk of hypothermia. 

Check for flash flood warning before you start. Info on water level and flow rate is posted at the visitor center daily. 

If you’re doing a day hike bottom up from the Temple of Sinawava and back (about 6 miles), permit is not needed. If you’re hiking top to bottom from Chamberlain’s Ranch (about 16 miles), permit is required. I personally did not brave the 16 miles… maybe next time! 

I’m no expert but if you have questions about hiking The Narrows, don’t hesitant to leave me a comment! 

Photos from my hike:

 

Sort:  

One of the most beautiful place I have visited in the US of A! thanks for sharing the information and the beautiful pictures too.

I can only agree with you, the water can be painfully cold! The dry suit suggestion is a very wise one.

Namaste :)

Thanks @eric-boucher! I'm guessing you went in to the ice cold water without one haha. Followed :)

I DID! Thanks for the fellowship too, namaste :)

Oh this looks kool... I have been to one like this in Turkey called the Saklikent Gorge one of the deepest canyons in the world was amazing!!
Upvoted :)

Thanks @laurenkavanagh! I'll have to remember to add your suggestion to my "to hike" list if I ever visit Turkey. Hope you'll write about it in one of your post in the future. Followed, hope you'll do the same :)

Yes I can make a post for it was a great day lots of climbing on slippery rocks but great fun! Yes I never thought about writing a post for it but I can do that :)
Followed you back :)

Thank you @laurenkavanagh. Looking forward to reading it :)

Great post! Upvoted and followed have a look at my travel blog you might like it too

Thanks @redtravels! Scanning through your posts, i've noticed you're a world traveler. I'll definitely be reading your posts, especially the Hong Kong one! Followed back :)

Congrats @sweetfin. Your photo made it on the Top Photographs Daily Selection today :)

https://steemit.com/photography/@mycamerashots/best-photos-trail-13th-june-2017

Thank you @mycamerashots for including me in your daily selection! Followed you to see other awesome photography from the community.

It is beautiful. Look forward to seeing more stories. Followed back. See you. :) @sweetfin