Vernal & Nevada Falls ~ Yosemite National Park, California

in #photography7 years ago

Have you ever seen something that’s so monumental up close that gives you the feeling of awe? That was the feeling I got when I hiked up to the top of the Vernal and Nevada Falls at Yosemite National Park, California. Seeing something that is so stunning but yet scary, when imagining being swept away, is an odd feeling.

I trekked up Vernal Fall via Mist Trail. Here, you would hike up a series of uneven, steep, wet, and sometimes narrow steps to the top. If you visit during the high season, you would encounter heavy foot traffic and would often have to maneuver around people coming down. It would be well worth your energy however, because you’d be rewarded with stunning views along the way.

It’s about a 1.5 miles hike to the top of Vernal Fall. You could also continue on to the top of Nevada Fall, which is another 2 miles up, resulting in a total of 7 miles round trip. I would suggest hiking up the first falls then decide if you have the time and energy to continue to the second falls, which is exactly what I did. Make sure you give yourself plenty of time to hike back down.

A few things to keep in mind:

You WILL get wet from the mist of the waterfall, so wear something that will either dry fast or something water resistant.

The mist from the falls gets quite cold so I suggest leaving plenty of time when the sun is still out to dry up while heading back.

Also please wear shoes with good grip. The wet rocks get very slippery. Some folks were wearing flip-flops during the hike, which is very dangerous. One slip and fall and you’ll turn an amazing experience in to a tragedy. Don’t be a fool!

Here are a few photos I took from this trail:

Vernal Fall

IMG_0157.JPG

Nevada Fall

IMG_9718.JPG

Heading back down the slippery steps.

IMG_9683.JPG

Sort:  

Amazing! Love your hiking post. upvoted!

Thank you for your support @steemfuzzy!

That's an awesome hike! When I was out there last year we didn't do any of the long hikes. All my kids were under 10 at the time. And one still needed a stroller. But we are planning a trip next year. My oldest will almost be 12 and I think he will be up for the hike! Thanks for the post! And thanks for the comment on my blog! I'm now following!

It was an awesome hike indeed! And I definitely don't recommend a stroller on this hike haha. Thanks for replying! Followed you back and hope to read more about your adventures :)