Photos from moments remembered

in #photography5 years ago

I finally had a chance to have a look at what I photographed in Auschwitz and a moment to process them. I showed my wife and she couldn't watch them all, I can understand her. As I cropped the shots and adjusted them into black and white the feeling wasn't one of like, it felt more of necessity. I wrote today that I consider value to be something that makes me think, something that changes me, improves me and going through these shots was filled with discomfort but something I feel needed to be done.

I am a visual person and the way my memory works is through building a scene, a network of images that represent concepts and procedures, they stick to me and provide reference and of course, reflection as the case may be. I wanted to find a way to remember my time there and find some kind of honesty in the perspective to present, but failed. How can words or images ever capture the horror of events that are not so distant, that some still can recall with clarity. It is impossible.

Essentially, nothing I could ever say or show would ever be relevant but, as we talk of values, speak of community and the future, we have to at least try to understand what has come to pass and do all we can to ensure it will never be so again, we can be better. We have to make ourselves uncomfortable and face the reality of what we are capable of and how we play a role in whatever future there will be and move toward one of betterment.

We can also choose to stay silent. Passive.

We are told to face our fears but so often when confronted we turn away and avoid what we know scares us, distract ourselves from the sight of pain and suffering, even if it is our own. I have always believed art is more than for a pleasant view of the world, it can show us ourselves in its reflection, give us views of lives we will never know, close gaps in understanding we might never willingly approach.

It isn't easy, it is always imperfect.

I am glad that I had a chance to walk those paths and take these pictures because it was a stark reminder to me of where we could be and all of the little steps that led into atrocity. I hope that all of my own little steps through this world will lead continually away and toward something that empowers individuals and groups to be their best, to flourish and thrive in opportunity. It is a slow process either way but one that speeds as the mass increases.

We make both enemies and friends.
There could be just a discussion difference between.

There is beauty in the struggle to overcome ourselves.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Sort:  

Very sad, but this reality must to be always remembered to "they" don't make the same mistake. Awesome pics! Compliments! (;

I think "we" shouldn't. "They" might make people feel comfortable by distancing but it was many things that led there.

It's true!

Doesn't making people feel uncomfortable make "you" (collectively not you personally) a toxic person? XD

These photos are amazing. Beautifully composed, haunting, sickness inducing (for lack of a better description, they're making my stomach and my head hurt, that place really permeates dimensions doesn't it). I'm pretty impressed you were physically able to take them at all.

Doesn't making people feel uncomfortable make "you" (collectively not you personally) a toxic person? XD

I am considered toxic much of the time because of this 'fact' that I am responsible for other people's feelings.

I'm pretty impressed you were physically able to take them at all.

I think being behind the camera and looking for a shot is a kind of distancing position. I couldn't be a photo journalist in a war zone though.

I don't think the people who think you're toxic have actually ever met a toxic person.

I don't know how photojournalists in warzones are able to do their job either x_x

Hm maybe that's where I'm going wrong, I find photographing/drawing something a lot more involving (part of the reason why I don't like drawing actual people XD).

I don't think the people who think you're toxic have actually ever met a toxic person.

Lots of sheltered people out there these days :D

Hm maybe that's where I'm going wrong, I find photographing/drawing something a lot more involving (part of the reason why I don't like drawing actual people XD)

Maybe that is a decent reason to do more of it :)

Beautiful photos of a horrific location. They work well in B&W.

It is strange place to shoot but at the same time rewarding. It is hard to describe.

I bet. I will get there one day.

Those who cannot learn from history must repeat history. Let's hope that the learning curve is high and tomorrow we do not ignore the lessons. Very telling photography that speaks to the heart. Blessings and thanks @tarazkp

I won¨t forget the place anytime soon. Something that the guide reminded us of was when it was running, there was no grass. A little detail that would have changed the view a lot.

There is always a positive thing/way between negative situation. All we need to keep ourselves calm and believe in ourselves. Keep posting. ☺

Positive and negative are perspectives only.

These images remind us of what we are capable of men to self-destruct and generate suffering. Even in our days, "similar horrors" are repeated in other parts of the world. Receive my affections @tarazkp

Yep, the cycle seems endless.

Genocide is alive and active even today.
I do and cannot understand how people who can make a difference do nothing.

It effects you once eyes are opened. Post is what needs to be done with the pictures. It’s hard glad you did it. I understand your wife and support her action. I did copy the pictures and will save them.

It was a sobering experience and if given the opportunity I would go again and do it slower and more privately. I think my wife would understand it differently at that level.

Every one has there own way of dealing and grasping something like that.

My 1st experience with things like that was Jones Town. It took years to grasp just the smell. Smells and memories are powerful combo .

Are things falling into place from steemfest with all that info. Getting a grasp on steem for the next year or two

Take care

Are things falling into place from steemfest with all that info. Getting a grasp on steem for the next year or two

It is slowly getting there and I am beginning to throw some ideas discussed out into the community. Not all are winners but some might lead to better change.

Barbed wire is so evocative

Posted using Partiko Android