Travel photography [ Black and Whites, Paris ]

in #photography7 years ago

summer_holiday_2013-580.jpg
[ Locals eating in the Jewish quarter ]

Paris.
Both a beautiful city and not.

We danced tango, salsa, kizomba and bachata upon the Seine with thousands of people. We were shouted at by a waiter who didn't like coins and an icecream seller who didn't want me to photograph anywhere near his stall.

We met a friend and made a few more. Took a very long drive with two strangers who argued over what music to play and which one of them a girl liked - in French.

Spent an evening in Montemartre eating good food and watching the sun set over the city.

There were so many micro adventures on this trip. I will add some better stories later.

Gor now, here are some black and whites. I love B&W a lot. Especially in cities. I have so many but these are some that will hopefully give a feel of Paris life.

Taraz

summer_holiday_2013-772.jpg
[ Jazz in Montmartre ]

summer_holiday_2013-818.jpg
[ The Eiffel tower at night ]

summer_holiday_2013-909.jpg
[ Local ladies laughing and shopping together ]

summer_holiday_2013-514.jpg
[ Paris is full of beautiful buildings]

summer_holiday_2013-788.jpg
[ A restaurant owner waiting to greet evening customers ]

summer_holiday_2013-776.jpg
[ Across rooftops ]

Sort:  

A downvote was applied to partially counter earlier whale votes as an experiment to reduce whale domination of voting influence. Not intended to express an opinion on the content nor result in a net reduction of rewards or reputation (automated notice)

That is interesting.
Can I know a little more? Will my posts be flagged in the future too? Will this stop people seeing the post? Is this a random thing or am I targeted for some reason?

Any info is appreciated or a link to a suitable post that answers some of these.

Thanks. I am interested in how this turns out as I am currently Krill in this system but hoping that sweat equity will pay off for those that provide original content.

I'm Krill as well... so speaking..
IMHO original content should be valued, but there is no system for it which makes it easy.. Let's see what happens..

Wonderful selection, quite a bandwith.

I'll visit Paris in June first time. So any special tipps what to visit?

All of the usual suspects of course and get in early fot the Eiffel tower. We walked a lot and only took the subway occasionally. We do this generally (although now with a small baby this might get put in hold) because there is so much to see in between landmarks and stations. If the weather is good, opposite Notredame locals gather to dance. It is nice to sit and watch and they are friendly and talkative. If you are interested in good food, do your research first as So many places look nice but serve nonsense for tourists.

THanks for the hint about the restaurants.
We have friends living in the city, so I hope they know about some good places :-)
DO you have a tip?

None at all unfortunately. We learned the hard way. We lucked upon a brilliant little italian place in the Jewish quarter. If I can find the name I will let you know.

beautiful Shots :)

Thank you. Have you ever visited Paris?

No unfortunately not, but it should be a beautiful city.

Brings me back in time to wonderful years in the 80's , living a good life there. Fascinating black and white images !

It must have been some experience and I think the locals have a pretty good range of fun things to do.

Paris is and always was unique but don't get me started with the parisians haha

I can imagine... :)

cool, love the photo with the resto owner :)

That is one of my favourites too and he and his wife were lovely hosts.

Downvoted to counteract the upvotes from @curie bots and other whales.
More info here: https://steemit.com/test/@abit/whales-no-up-voting-test

How many downvotes are expected. After all the other downvotes already, this post just went from around $19 to $4. I am supportive of the trial just wondering where it leads. Do those that attract support get penalised automatically? I and I am assuming others spend quite a lot of time developing content. So far, all content created including all images used are mine. A lot of it developed specifically for Steemit. I am a sweat investor and in it for the long haul hoping to create something valuable both from a content and monetary perspective.

I appreciate the testing and willing to wear the immediate investment cost for a hopefully more equitable future. I know others may not feel the same.

Like any business, it takes time and investment to build it successfully. And like any business, if the ROI is not realised, it is time to close up shop and get a job at Starbucks.

Good luck with the trial, may it bring good feedback and practical steps to move forward.