Sort:  

Uh, that sounds bad. I hope you recovered completely after that accident!
I think it depends on what your want to do with a longboard.
If you just use it for cruising around and you start to learn it step by step, it's rather soft on the knees.
But all further from that has a higher risk for injury.

It was maybe 20 Years ago and I recovered fine from it has happened a few times over the years I smashed both knees when I was 19 but that didn’t slow me down for long but I feel it now as approach my 60s lol

Thats very good, that you recovered that fast!
I had broken my foot while climbing 6 or 7 years ago and I still have to deal with it today sometimes.
Injuries at the joints can be nasty.

I was stubborn back then was told I would need surgery or I would never run again, and the surgery was no guarantee I would run again so I put it off, and not long after started to run and ended up doing a few marathons and triathlons so it was all good, now I feel the aches and pains but I have done pretty well I think :)

Broken feet can take a while to heal, I have broken both of mine a few times, the worst one was when a truck ran over it, I didnt even know they were broken most of the times I thought it was a strain or whatever and taped it up myself, I only found out for sure they were broken about 5 Years ago when I had feet issues and they did xrays on both feet, the funny thing is the foot I call my good foot, just about every bone in it has been broken at some stage been broken, but they healed fairly well so I must have taped them up well

Lets just say I was crazy when I was younger

Thats awesome that you didn't let the diagnosis get you down!

Sounds a lot like my story. After I got my MRI, I asked the guy if I could try to do some slacklining to train the stablizing muscles. And he just told me I should figure out how to walk properly agian at some point. And that I will probably get a Arthrodesis at some point in my life (so that the joint cannot move in one dircetion any more). That was a big shock for me at first, but after time and several appointments with different doctors I realized that they all had very different opinions on my fracture. So I ditched the crutches I was using for over a month at that point and just did what I felt was best for me. That helped more than any advice a doctor gave me. And now, with a bit of limitations, I'm able to do all the sport I want again.

I think sometimes we know our own bodies better than anyone else can and if we're sensible and really listen to our body then we can work through many things that is so impressive what you have managed to do, keep on keeping on and stay strong my friend

if we're sensible and really listen to our body then we can work through many things

That is so true!
You don't believe it untill you experienced it yourself.

keep on keeping on and stay strong

I wish you the same!
I'm really happy we met here on steem :)