Capoeira; Afro-Brazilian Martial Art

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

capo.jpg
Capoeira is an African-Brazilian martial that combines dance, music and acrobatics. It was created in Brazil by African slaves and natives during the 16th century.

It utilizes powerful kicks, feints, spinning kicks, ground movements and a swaying motion known as the GINGA. Capoeira is essentially a martial art hidden in dance. Slaves were forbidden from practicing self-defense and therefore camouflaged their fight training with instruments, song and dance. Many MMA fighters train Capoeira including Anderson Silva, Connor McGregor, Anthony Pettis, Amanda Nunes and more.

Capoeiristas are very agile athletes and can be quite deceptive. Most view Capoeira as a harmless dance but this misconception is what makes Capoeira even more effective. Below is a photo of myself playing in the roda with Mestre(master) Galo when I received my first cordao, which is similar to the various color belts given in other martial arts.
playing in roda.jpg

Capoeira training involves many spinning kicks, ground movements and acrobatics from basic cartwheels ('au' in Portuguese) to full out aerials. Capoeiristas are able to move freely along the ground, defend and attack from a standing position, and even take to the air when appropriate. There are also throws, takedowns and even hand strikes.
capooo.jpg

Capoeira is an art form and a powerful platform for expression. I have been training for about eight years now and I am hooked. I am 36 years old and I move better than people half my age, thanks to a training regimen that includes Capoeira movements and exercises. I encourage you to try a Capoeira class in your area. Axe!

rooda.jpg