Photography: Yosemite's Merced River

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

The Merced River

Yosemite's Merced River winds lazily below Yosemite Falls and attracts tourists interested in tubing, fishing, swimming, or just a relaxing afternoon on a pebble beach. On a recent trip to Yosemite with my children, we were walking across the Swinging Bridge when I looked back at Yosemite Falls and snapped this picture. The beauty was overwhelming!

After hiking the Lower Yosemite Falls trail, we stopped at a little store to grab some picnic lunch items. From the parking lot, it was a 10 minute walk to the Swinging Bridge where we picnicked under the shade of nearby trees. The kids cast their fishing poles in the water which they then abandoned for throwing rocks into the meandering river. Tubers shouted greetings and encouraged the little fisher people as happiness and contentment permeated the fresh mountain air. Everyone agreed it was our favorite experience during our time in Yosemite.

Sort:  

Yosemite has always been on my bucket list of places to visit. My fear is that the time I finally go is when the super volcano decides to erupt and we all die. It might be a good thing for me to stay away. (I don't go on cruises either. That will be the time we have a Titanic moment.) LOL

Your pictures are stunning and I cannot believe the kids aren't waist -deep splashing in the water.

Well, they WOULD have been if I would have let them! They had their hiking shoes on though, and we were going to Glacier Point that evening, so I couldn't let them do that! Bummer...You HAVE to go to Yosemite. I've been there twice now. We went camping the first time and went to Olmstead Point and Yosemite Valley. This time, we hit Mariposa Grove, Yosemite Valley, Glacier Point. We still haven't hit Hetch Hetchy or Tuolumne Meadows, but I'd go back a third time to do just that. It's sincerely breath-taking.

The picture of the kids near the water prompted a memory of my son making a beeline for the biggest, muddiest pot hole in our old shale driveway. He'd take a couple steps then stop to look at me. I could see the longing in his little face but I couldn't watch him go in...so I turned my back. LOL Nothing a hose and a new diaper couldn't fix.
But yeah, wet hiking shoes are not good.
Yosemite... If I ever get there and it blows up, it's on the blockchain that it's your fault, okay? 😜

I'm laughing to myself, because are you thinking Yellowstone? I don't recall there being a volcano at Yosemite!! There's a supervolcano under Yellowstone, which I have been to as well and also love very much...another amazing place to visit. So I think you'll be ok at Yosemite and safe from a volcano...just might have to run from a wildfire ;-).

ROFLMAO I had Yellowstone on the brain! Now I truly can add Yosemite...and Grand Teton National Park to my list. Anything west of the Mississippi is a mystery to me. LOL

Ok, now I'm REALLY laughing hard! Yes, Yosemite is safe...minus the wildfires. Grand Tetons are GORGEOUS too! I really want to take the kids to Glacier National Park next summer. That or go explore Oregon. I love the western part of the U.S.!

My stepson lives in Oregon but he wants to move to Washington State or back to Alaska. My husband says the Northwest is beautiful. We were thinking about moving out that way because he can get a job transfer but all of our family ties are on the east coast. Maybe one day Pat & I will be able to retire, buy an RV and just travel - and we'll bring hellfire, earthquakes, monsoonal rains, and meteors in our wake. hahaha!

Wow, simply breathtaking beauty. Your picture of Yosemite Falls looks like it belongs in an Adventure magazine of some kind.

Thank you, kindly. The pictures don’t even do it justice. I could have sat there for hours to drink in all the beauty. Y son thought we should move to Yosemite. I was quite in agreement! Unfortunately the park is being ravaged by wildfires right now. The place where we stayed was evacuated last week. Breaks my heart to think about it!