The Sony A7III Experience ๐Ÿ”ฅ | 24-70mm f/2.8 GM Lense review with sample pictures

in #photography โ€ข 6 years ago

24-70GM-1.JPG

My first lense for the new Sony A7III

So the first lens i bought for the A7III is the sony 24-70mm f/2.8 GM. My main reason for buying this lens is the versatility you get from having a 24 to 70mm focal length, and a aperture of 2.8 might save your ass in a lower light condition.

Be sure to check out my quick Sony A7III review if you havn't

Key Stats:
Focal Length24-70 mm (Crop sensor: 36-105mm)
ApertureMax: f/2.8 Min: f/22
Diaphragm Blades9
Minimum Focus Distance38 cm
Filter Thread82 mm
Dimensions87.6 x 136 mm
Weight886 g

24-70GM-5.JPG

24-70GM-8.JPG

24-70GM-10.JPG

24-70GM-11.JPG

By just holding the lens in your hands you can feel that it's high quality. The zoom ring(closest to camera) got some friction so if you set it to 50mm it won't slide around when shooting. There is also a handy lock tab that is used for locking the focal length in place. If you like to use manual focus i can inform you that the focus ring (closest to front of the lens) is very smooth to operate.

On the lens there is also a custom function button which i personally got programmed for EYE-AF. So when I shoot portrait I can hold it to lock in focus on the eye of my model incredibly fast, that is quite handy.

The image quality of this lens is amazing and with a 9 blade aperture you get a lovely smooth bokeh.

In my mind this is the perfect first lens to get. If you travel and want to do landscape, street or portrait photography this one lens can do it all. After a while i might get a faster f/1.4 or 1.8 prime lens for portrait work or a 70-200 for more range. But for now this lens does all i need.

A cheaper alternative that is quite interesting is the new (announced in February) Tamron 28-75mm f/2.8 for Sony E-mount coming out now in late may. Time will tell how it will stand up against the Sony 24-70 f/2.8.

๐Ÿ‘‰Be sure to follow for more photography and tech related posts coming up๐Ÿ‘ˆ

TheStig Out โœŒ

Ps: Here are some sample photos from the A7III with the 24-70mm 2.8 GM that i quickly optimized in adobe lightroom.(Size reduced for upload) Model: @Kristinbr

24-70GM sample-3.JPG

24-70GM sample-2.JPG

24-70GM sample-4.JPG

24-70GM sample-5.JPG

24-70GM sample-1.JPG

Sort: ย 
ย 6 years agoย (edited)ย 

What is it like to work at Sony?

Sorry dude i don't work at Sony, just a Sony mirrorless enthusiast๐Ÿ˜„

I would be very happy if i own this camera :)

very cool

Thank you @aaronnn47๐Ÿ‘Œ

Sony are best for photography

yes they are quite amazing

Nice pictures

thank you ๐Ÿ‘

wow so cool pictures, the camera technology is the best, keeps innovating base on design and features.

the clarity of the image are so awesome. the contras and the brightness are perfectly match and the color combo is balance.

@thestig Upvoted. keep photos coming my dear.^_^

Wow really appreciate you comment and feedback on my pictures! Keep an eye out for more pictures @mrblu ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

Ughhhhh that is good @thestig I really wanted to have a camera even if it is not cool as that... You must be really thankful to god.

Thank you, you can do really well with a old camera as well. Only your imagination is the limit ๐Ÿ˜Š

Awesome review! When a i have the money that would be the next lens i'll buy

Thank you! What lense are you going for first? :)

An 85mm 1.8

i have heard that the sony 85mm 1.8 is quite good๐Ÿ‘

i like it lens

Have you fully replaced DSLR with your Sony A7III? I'm looking to add a digital camera to my arsenal. Would you recommend the A7III? Is this now your main camera?

Yes the Sony a7III is my main camera. But i still bring my old Canon 400d with a 70-300 as a backup but also to have the long reach since i don't have a lens for my Sony with that long focal length yet. Would 100% recommend this camera if you want to really invest in top camera gear. In my mind the A7III with all its features at a $2000 price point in the US (more expensive in Europe..) makes it the best of its price class.

Thank you @thestig I am building my STEEMIT following so I can buy more gear. I'm learning how to maximize profits in the Steem Schools discord channel here.

If you have any tips on how you became so successful please share!

Another great review! I'm going to bookmark this post for future reference when buying new lense.

Thank you so much! If you got any questions about the camera or lense before you buy just ask me ๐Ÿ˜€

I sure will. Thanks!

I'd love to be able to afford a Sony. I'd also have to get an adapter for my lenses or exchange them all. I've messed with a few Sony's at Best buy and the build quality is top notch.

I mostly want the Sony for doing low light 4k video and better slow mo than my Canon 6D can offer.

I have heard that the Metabones adapter for canon lenses is quite good. Think that is a little less of a pain than exchanging them all. At least as a start ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

I bought Sony 24-105mm lense lately. It's better useful than 24-70, I think.

That is a good lens for sure, i went for the 24-70 much because the 2.8 max aperture, compared with the the max of the 24-105 which is 4.

The red car's photography are killing me. oh-my-god I need.

Hope Steemit help me to get this level and make my life happier ahahaha. Great work!

Hahah thank you so much! Steemit is a great opportunity so just keep on working ๐Ÿ‘

Thank you so much for a very in depth and high quality review. The amount of detail clearly took some time to prepare and it shows in your finished piece. I most appreciate the closeups of the lense and your description of how it feels in the hand. Great work!

@cryptoisfun your feedback is so much appreciated, yes it took quite some time to prepare and finish up everything. But it's so worth it when i get comments like yours! Thanks!๐Ÿ˜ƒ

You're welcome! Keep at it :)

Real happiness to a photographer is having a good camera! Am I right?
Because I'm also a photographer with passion!!!!

Having a good camera makes it a hell of alot easier that is for sure ๐Ÿ˜€

ย 6 years agoย (edited)ย 

i am a photo enthusiast too but i know less to nothing about lenses. i use to own great sony cameras too way back before it was stolen . Good write up.

Jeeez that must be the worst feeling, having your gear stolen... Thank you for the feedback!

Great review and fantastic lens.๐Ÿ‘

Thank you sir! ๐Ÿ‘

I am a Sony user, I have the Sony A77 camera and I really want the Sony A7 III. This camera has a great focusing system and the battery has greatly improved its performance. A great camera definitely.

That is absolutely true, just the same selling points that got me interested. Best value for mony camera at this time in my mind. And with the amazing video capabilities like amazing 4k or 120fps 1080p makes it a winner for sure.

Another camera that has received very good reviews is the Sony A6500. I hope to grow enough in Steemit to buy the A7 III. Greetings my friend.

If you want a more portable and crop frame camera the A6500 is lovely, my girlfriend got a A6000 and i quite like that camera. So the A6500 that got a new sensor must be amazing. The A7III for sure makes a great investment if you save up steem for a while.

I've had my Sony A77 for more than five years and I think it's time for a new body. I think the Sony A7 III is the best candidate to replace my old A77.

The A7 III has enormous advantages, such as: better focusing system, greater dynamic range, 4k video and higher battery performance among other things.

I am ambitious and I would like the A6500 as a secondary body hahaha. The truth is that for now I must have patience and keep growing in the Steemit community.

Hahah yeah a a7III with A6500 would be amaaazing. The A7III would be the perfect replacement for you.

That is my goal. Greetings my friend.

Hey @thestig,

I am just getting into photography and must say this post has been most useful! The images are brilliant.

Thank you.
@shenobie

Thank you @shenobie, fun to hear that you are getting into photography! I'm actually working on som posts about learning basic photography, so keep your eyes open if your interested ๐Ÿ‘

Hey that sounds brilliant! I look forward to reading them. They are just what I need.

Cheers
@shenobie

wow .. really nice not only sony A7III Experience but also pictures

Thank you for taking the time to comment @steemlota

This post has received a 7.13 % upvote from @boomerang.

You got a 9.54% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @thestig!

Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale. Visit http://www.upmewhale.com for details!

You got a 8.55% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @thestig!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

good job sir. i'm always stalking your steem

Thanks @febryrmadn! Appreciating the stalking sir๐Ÿ‘

Can youmay I ask your Whatsap contact to learn more about steemit sir ?

Introduce my name is Febri Ramadhan. Im from country INDONESIA , i will very happy if i know you

ๅพˆๆผ‚ไบฎ็š„ไธ€ๆžš้•œๅคด~

Thank you ๐Ÿ‘Œ

ๅŽŸๆฅไฝ ็œ‹็š„ๆ‡‚ไธญๆ–‡็š„~ๅ˜ปๅ˜ป๏ผŒไธๅฎขๆฐ”

Amongst Sony users that invested in the a9 or a7rIII within that 18 month span, some feel foolish for spending thousands more on their units only to have Sony . So, for an extra $1200 you'll get nearly double the resolution and a superior shooting experience with the A7RIII than you can with the A7iii............

I am pretty sure that 90% of people can do all that they want with a 24 megapixel sensor. And the a7III got a superior AF system, inherited from the a9. The bump in megapixels is not enough for me to justify buying the a7riii over the a7iii. But if you do professional shoots were you crop alot, then the extra megapixels can save you quite som work.

i like photography

Yes, i also like photography ๐Ÿ‘

awesome lense... your photography is also nice... keep it up... thanks for shareing... @upvoted

Thank you i will.

Excellent photography.....

Thank you!

Hey there. I have a client who is looking for influencer marketing on Steemit in the photography niche. Is that something you'd be interested in doing? If so let me know and I can introduce you. You can reach me on Steemit or on Discord yallapapi#1970

I love photo no. 3

Thank you! Photo no. 3 is actually taken just a few days ago, nice to se spring/summer is coming.

Your post had been curated by the @buildawhale & @upmyvote team and mentioned here:

https://steemit.com/curation/@buildawhale/buildawhale-curation-digest-05-04-18

Keep up the good work and original content, everyone appreciates it!

Very good photo !!!๐Ÿš€๐Ÿš€๐Ÿš€

Much appreciated! ๐Ÿ˜

Thank's for the review.....bro

Thank you! If you like reviews be sure to follow, more is on it's way.

Great photos. UP4YOU :)

Thank you! :)

Congratulations @thestig! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @thestig! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!