The Total Solar Eclipse of August 21, 2017 in Photos

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I was invited last minute to see the eclipse in Oregon.
eclipse_wow.jpg

I didn't expect it to be so dark. It was 10:16 A.M! I've seen photos of other eclipses. It doesn't prepare you for it actually getting dark. Night fell for a few moments that morning. Venus and a few stars appeared. I could see the pink of the Solar Flares and the glow of the Corona. I was stunned. The photo was taken. I glanced at it. It seemed reasonable from a distance. I let go of the camera. It swung on it's tether. My goal was to observe. To stay in the moment.

That's my excuse for the focus being wrong. I've learned to make sure to be present even when "being the photographer." I've missed too many life events being "stuck in the camera." Learned my lesson years ago. It wasn't going to happen this time. I stood and stared.

I managed to convince my camera to take some shots through the eclipse glasses leading up to the main event.

Near

near

Look at the sun! It's going away behind the moon! Haha! Bye bye Sun! Nice job Moon!

Nearer


Oh... This is really happening. Everything felt wrong. The light was off. 15,000K light color temperature. But so dim? This is why those blue-white LED bulbs look so terrible. It's not natural. The light is all wrong. Was I on a different planet? I announced to the my friends "Look at this light! This is the closest you'll ever be to another planet with a different sun." I thought of ancient cultures. No science to light their way. It must have been terrifying.

Gone

eclipse_sky.jpg
The rest of the sky: The blues, greens, yellows, oranges, and reds.

eclipse_no_sun.jpg
Dusk? A bit early today for that.

And Back Again

eclipse_sun_back_big.jpg

Everyone cheered when the sun peeked out. A chant of "One more time! One more time!" broke out across the crowd, but there was no encore. The whole experience was amazing.

Thanks for reading! Please follow for more tutorials and photography.

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @tiktuk to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment!

For more information, Click Here!

@tiktuk got you a $1.57 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice!
@tiktuk got you a $1.57 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice! (Image: pixabay.com)


Want a boost? Click here to read more!

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

This post has received a 0.81 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @tiktuk.

This post has received a 12.88 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @tiktuk. Send 0.100 or more SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote.

To support our curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Congratulations @tiktuk! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @tiktuk! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!