TimTravels - Crete, Good Bye Mavic - Day 2

in #photography7 years ago

How is it going my Steemian friends? Welcome back to a new episode of TimTravels!

Ten days left on Crete. Ten more days without my Mavic Pro, my drone crashed today and became nothing more than some electronic waste. But more on that later!
The last days were simply amazing. What should I say? Great food, sun is shining every day, crystal clear water and nice people! A place I might visit every year from now on.
Where else do you have huge mountains next to a harbor city? Tell me and I'll visit this place.



Olive trees far and wide! Greece is known for its first class olive oil. You will see by its landscape that it's covered by many of these trees.



Matala Beach, known for its caves and a great place for cliff diving



One of the last pictures of my Mavic Pro in action


Here is something interesting and exciting to know! There is this canyon called Kourtaliotiko gorge. If you drive there by car you have the possibility to park it and take a 15 minute walk down by foot. At the bottom there is a little river. Followin the water to its spring you will find a cave with a waterfall! Simply amazing. I couldn't fly into the cave with the drone since it was too windy.








Are you ready for the following pictures? It really hurt me to see my drone crash. I lost control due to heavy wind and it crashed again a wall. From there it fell 10 meters down and completely got wrecked. Here is what's left from the Mavic. The sad story is that I came to Crete to make a video and wont be able to finish it. I have no idea if I will be able to get a new one here on the island but I will give it a try. Take care and fly safe my Steemian friends





I hope you enjoyed this episode of TimTravels! If you have any questions feel free to ask otherwise let me know what you think and leave a comment!

See you soon and Steem on,
Tim

Sort:  
There are 4 pages
Pages

Hey, @timsaid if you tell me in which town you are staying and how far you are willing to drive to buy one I can give you some information!
Amazing photos as always!

Edit: waiting to read what happened at the end :)

I can drive the whole island. At the moment I am at Matala

Awesome, closest to Matala is Heraklion. Google maps indicates that you need 1 hour 20 minutes by car to go there.

In Heraklion you can choose between three shops. Current price at all of them is 1199 euros.

Below are the locations of the shops for easy navigation:

Κωτσόβολος1

Κωτσόβολος2

YOU.gr

They all say that is in stock, but I believe that your best chance is with the first two.
If you need anything on the way or if I didn't explain something well let me know.
If you have to find me send me a message in steemit.chat as for unknown reasons I can't get reply notifications in steemit.
I hope you find a solution soon and have fun in Crete!

@timsaid upvoted..
i have a poem for you need your support..im mrblu your number 1. supporter..kindly see my post @
https://steemit.com/steemit/@mrblu/poem-to-my-followers-and-steemit-special-thanks-for-being-here-with-me-following-my-post-steem-poem

im celebrating my 300 followers..thank you..

Help to collect 1 million for thetravel with the likes xD
https://steemit.com/@constantius

Great location and great shots (loving that drone). Love how you shooting into the sun too 😁👍🏻

I like a lot of things regarding Greece and its surroundings, especially the ancient times.

So sorry about your drone and good luck with getting a new one in Crete.

Kinda impossible. Sad i know :)

It is sad but I am sure you can still produce amazing work with your camera, as you always do. :)

indeed his work is great hope you get a new one soon :)

Matala was the very first place I stayed in 30 yrs ago !! and it was just 1 taverna, a few houses and the beach and caves - it was NO TOURIST, very of the beaten track and fantastic. Carried on holidaying there for 10 yrs -2 or 3 times a year, all over the Island - its the best of all the Greek Islands . Try Rhythemenon and Spili beautiful and a ride up through the mountains is awesom - shame about your drone :( - just loving your posts, takes me back....

Awesome Man. That's really superb. I always want to visit Greece. Its a beautiful country.

Matala Beach looks amazing. All of the photos are good, but the photo of the olive trees and Matala Beach are my faves

Argh! Sorry to see your drop in pieces! - perhaps it can be repaired? Your pictures of the cave and coastline are tremendous - we are all rooting, voting and resteeming to get you back in the air!

This post received a 3% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @icedrum! For more information, click here!

Hi Tim, splendid photos! Hope you're having a great time - very sorry to see what's happened to your drone. Have you started to look for a new one? I would be fascinated to read a drone buying guide from you.

Very best wishes,

Will

I think I will get the same again

Maybe you still can sell parts of it, i mean should be worth something. And then get the Spark

Good luck! Cheers

I think it is awesome that you found a constructive way to use a drone. Most of the time these days when you hear drone you think of people that are potentially dying because of these new machines. Amazing pictures.

A journey is impressive, full of interesting experiences, and get to see the good guys who were there, for me it is very excited, have you ever been to my country indonesia.??

Awesome Island! I remembered my travel to Crete in 2010. Seems like nothing has changed since then and I love it. Greeks are very traditional people and also as islanders they differ from those living on mainland

Great pictures! upvoted. -#Padre

Amazing photos. I have never used drone based photography. I am now feeling, I need one soon, thanks for the inspiration :)

thx for sharing

So sad about the drone. Friggin' amazing photos!! Nice work!!

AMAZING AND ONCE AGAIN AMAZING!!!
AL I want is GREECE now!!!

Wow really beautiful place, a dream place, where anyone would like to spend a long holiday, I love it. Everything seems magical, the contact with nature and the incredible landscapes. Very unfortunate the fall of your Mavic Pro took some great photos. Would you make a video for a social network?

im a swede/canarian so Greece is not very well known to me. but now I want to go there

Oh my god, it's so heartbreaking to see your Mavic Pro broken!! I crashed mine twice into palm trees last year in Bali, but luckily it survived both accidents. So sorry for yours!

Awesome shots! I'm still saving for more camera equipment do achieve the cinematic look.

Travel is something that is very interesting, because we can see a new that doesn't exist in a country, we can see their culture, their life is art, a beautiful place, all very beautiful, I will always follow you, because can I know little about the outside world, and if you want, I really like on art and culture, please also share art and culture that you see in your journey, thank you.

Very useful and quality ,can add my insight in everyday life,and hopefully the next post will be better again ,wish you all the best 👍

Very useful and quality ,can add my insight in everyday life,and hopefully the next post will be better again ,wish you all the best 👍

Nice place, so beautifull

Those formation of rocks and water fall, very inspiring! That's why i love to travel.
Thank you for sharing this! :)

regards,
Mike

So sorry about the drone! :o but pictures are still amazing!
I am going to crete in few weeks so this post is very useful! I will definitely try to find a hidden waterfall! Sounds so exciting! Will share how did it go haha :D
Good luck with your travels! :)

Beautiful photos of beautiful places :) Upvoted, like them very much and with every new post you make @timsaid there's more&more places I need to see :) thank you for inspiration :)
Steem on! Cheers! :)

Thanks and good luck on your journeys

Thank you :) I'll need the luck cause I just have to find time and resources, but everything's possible, right? :)

Upvoted! always love your posts and the work you put in.
keeo them coming, and keep travelling.
i blog about the last four years that i travelled and Amsterdam.
Have a good one

Nice pictures i like the blue water :)
Thanks for sharing

beautiful. Please add a short video with the drone, if it is a problem in the next

I have few second and of footage left

Oh man I can only imagine how deep your heart fell into your chest watching your drone crash like that! I hope you find a new solution soon!

Thanks! And yes I am kinda sad but things like this happen

Stunning!

The crash was

LOL get it together. What happened?

what happened?

Fantastic photos!

what good your photos

@timsaid
Lovely photos

Sorry to hear about your drone! Excellent photos btw, I also take drone shots and you can check those out in my latest blogs if you want. Thanks for sharing!

Sorry for your drone ... But the photos of the landscape I loved

I have heard alot about Crete, but never been there.
Nice pictures, great vacation place to plan.

Noooooo! The Mavic! As a fellow Mavic pilot! My heart goes out to you! How did you crash?

Absolutely stunning. Did you notice the orb above the mountain in the first few photos? Very neat. Thank you for sharing.

Very nice photos.

There are 4 pages
Pages