You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Rules vs Aesthetics - what to ignore and why

in #photography5 years ago

If ever I was going to write a big thick book about photography it would be about composition

If this was the appetizer, maybe you should!

Very interesting topic. Composition has always been a nightmare for me, since I don't think of myself as a very "creative" person, and I tend to look for rules to apply mechanically. I've known amateurs who knew next to nothing about photography but managed to take amazing shots just because they didn't have to think about it, they just felt them. I guess I have to take the long road - and this kind of "essay" is extremely helpful.

Sort:  

Thank you very much. I do have another article/essay on Japanese Aesthetics which I will probably put up next week, which may be of interest.