When Pink Eye Derails Your Plans

in #photogrpahy7 months ago

When Pink Eye Derails Your Plans


Hey friends!

Well, my healthy lifestyle took an unexpected detour this week when a fun climbing session (*See yesterday post - here led to the dreaded pink eye. Just goes to show you never know when or how you might catch something contagious. One minute you're scaling walls with a buddy, the next your eye is angrily red and oozing. What madness!

It started innocently enough - a day of bouldering with my friend, pushing our novice skills. She complained of an irritated contact, which we dismissed. But soon that eye was looking quite inflamed and pink. A trip to the doctor confirmed she had bacterial conjunctivitis, better known as pink eye.

After dropping my contagious pal safely home, I figured I was in the clear. But waking the next morning, my own eye felt scratchy. Checking the mirror, I saw the bloodshot sclera and telltale discharge. I'd caught my friend's pink eye!

Getting the antibiotic drops was easy enough, but then began 3 days of battling this pesky infection. Saying my vision is blurry is putting it mildly - text swims across my screen through a fog. Light sensitivity makes me squint like a mole. My eyes burn and water constantly, urging me to dig them out with a spoon. Not ideal!

So here I sit, pumping eye drops trying to clear this mess up ASAP. It's amazing how disruptive an eye issue can be for everyday tasks. I can't comfortably drive, work is a struggle. I never knew how frequently I rub my eyes until I couldn't!

While annoying, this too shall pass. In a week I'll be back to scaling walls with clear vision. For now, eye drops, catching up on movies (*Sorta), and dreaming of eyeballs free of infection!

It's humbling when your body reminds you who's boss. We try to stay active and healthy, but can't control everything. Have you dealt with a similar pesky ailment that disrupted your routine?

Share your stories below! Commiserating will help me power through the next few gross, blurry days.

Here's to speedy recoveries!

20231010_165857.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @jacuzzi! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 5 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking