You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What sports did you play at school?

in #physicaleducation5 years ago (edited)

You wouldn't believe it now, but I was quite the athlete back in the day (not that far back either). I played basketball for years, from when I was about 11 till 15 or so. I had my height going for me for a long time as I was one of the tallest in our team (mixed). In school they'd fight for me when chosing teams LOL, because I was the female Shaquille O'Neil. Only had to stick my hand up and I had the ball, and on top of that I could score too (unlike Shaq). This changed, of course, when all of a sudden the boys came back to school after the summer and had somehow all had a huge growth spurt.

I absolutely hated gymnastics though, and wasn't good at it.

I always loved softball and even played some football too. Then my sister's friend, who was the field hockey coach for the girls begged me to come and play with them because his team just wouldn't fill up, only to kick me off the team 8 weeks later because I insisted that hitting the ball high up in the air was much more fun than pushing the thing along on the grass, and in doing so I ended up smacking the ball into some girl's precious face and broke her nose... I loved field hockey aside from that and wished there was a more brutal version of the sport. Little did I know that in Ireland, they had what I wanted. When I discovered hurling and camogie here, I wished they would have had that in the Netherlands too.

Other than that, outside of school and team sports I would take on anything on and in the water. From sailing, windsurfing to kayaking and swimming... One day the kids and I will sail...somewhere...It's the dream at least.

Now? Other than my work-out videos (on a not so regular basis) all the sports I'm doing is called: 'run after the children.' Which can be fun too actually. Unless it's in the shop...

Sort:  

You have been a busy lady at times eh :)

They should label running after children as a sport!

Yes they should! And make it into an Olympic sport too!!

()