What sports did you play at school?

Were you spoilt for choice? Or was the only activity on offer: Dodge the chunky bully and keep hold of your dinner money?


The answer to this question is likely to vary depending on a few things like background and location in the world, but I'd be interested to hear about the options that were available to you during younger years.

All pupils in the UK have to do PE, or Physical Education, at school until they are 16 and the most popular sport at school is football, played by girls and boys. 1 I can't remember if that was the case 30 years or so ago, but I consider myself quite lucky with regards to the options I had from 6-16.


footy.jpg
source - unsplash

Throughout school, and as suggested above, football was my go-to activity of choice. Rain or shine, blizzards or a heatwave, I'd be out in the playground kicking a ball around. Sometimes it would go in the net, and sometimes (ok, once) it would go through the staff-room window, right where my form tutor was sitting with his morning coffee.

I'd also play for the school team (captain for a year or two in fact!), after school, and whenever it was daylight - and occasionally when you could barely see a thing. Not that you care about these things so much when you are small, but I'm grateful for being interested in a sport that has helped (for the most part) to keep the pies off me for many a year.

Physical Education (PE) at junior school (ages 7-11) was a bit basic and mainly due to the school not having either dedicated staff or decent equipment. One game we'd play was football cricket, which was a case of smack the ball as far as you can (but not on the roof) and run back and forth - I enjoyed that one I have to say, not so much the majority of the girls. Another game, which I forget the name of, would involve two teams trying to throw a sponge ball over the net and opposition to a team member standing on a mat. If your team member caught the ball then you went over to the mat to be a receiver also. That one favoured taller people, or at least people who could 'loop' a throw - some would be on the mat after one throw, others may take 20... or more.

There was of course Sports Day at school which involved such acclaimed sports as the Egg and Spoon race, but think I'll save that for another post :)

At high school, the options increased dramatically as their were trained staff and much more facilities available. I had a choice of high schools and went for the one offering football over rugby - posh egg chasers, pffft. And so the football continued at break-times, lunch time (usually with a bag of chips and pigeons trying to steal them or shit on you), and for the school team.

The school was fairly close to a leisure centre which had a reasonable pool, and I do distinctly remember getting better at swimming and moving up the levels. I'm still pretty pathetic if I look at how good my thirteen year old daughter is, but it's never been a major interest and I find it a bit boring to be honest.

Other games at school I enjoyed were Softball and Rounders. These normally took place with mixed teams, and the playing field was much more level as far as the sexes with some of the girls being pretty damn good at hitting and catching. Being a left-handed was pretty sweet for these sports. The bowler would call out 'left hander' and the fielders would move round leaving a gap where a right-handed person would often hit the ball. And so I'd just stand facing that way a little more and hit it that way. It didn't always work but when it did I enjoyed it a lot.

Occasionally (a week before sports day!), we'd get a go on some of the field athletics equipment. Discuss, Shot-putt, and for the kids without the crazed look in their eyes, Javelin. From what I can remember, the biggest lad won the Shot-putt, but the other activities involved more skill and technique and produced surprising results -e.g. non-members of the football team would be the best at times.

There would also be options to run - sprinting or longer distances but neither of those appealed to me at the time. I didn't see the point if their wasn't a game (ball) around the activity, although did go on to just run much more in later years. There was also a Table-Tennis club, a couple of Tennis courts, and even a small gym if you fancied climbing up a rope (I didn't).

I can't really think of any sports I missed out on that I was really desperate to do as a child, which could suggest either a small mind, or just being fairly lucky with the choices I was given. If I was being picky, a local Velodrome would have been nice!


velodrome.jpg
source - unsplash

What about you? Still playing your favourite game?

Cheers

Asher

Sort:  

Field hockey (I was very good at), basketball, taekwondo, badminton (pretty good at) and then the random school and lunch type sports. Pretty much as a kid though, when it came to sports - I could play whatever.

Well I wouldn't have guessed :P

Badminton is really tough, i hate that sport but only because I have a couple of friends who are pretty good and they just stand centre court whilst i do 10 km and still lose handsomely.

A game of Pool next time then? You can team up with @blewitt

Isn't @Blewitt the one that sunk the black and the white together?

Yes. Which is normally quite amusing, except when its a simple finish and they are your teammate!

Never gonna live that dud of a moment down...am I?!? Lol

I was all confident and feeling myself. What a tool.

Posted using Partiko iOS

....... and feeling myself

And there it is, finally the truth as to the shocking pot comes out. He's holding the wrong cue he is!

The trip got lonely and you weren’t paying it the attention you did early in the trip. I had to take matters into my own hands.

Posted using Partiko iOS

It’s like the thing of legend. This tale is told across the globe.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I liked badminton, used to play some tennis and ping pong as well so it was easy to get into and the sweat just poured as it was so fast paced.

I always had the idea of playing tennis, but it was always more of a bit of weekend fun kind of thing. When I was a kid, my brothers would tease me because I was into sports, they were into music.

I can't remember getting a choice in PE... we just had to do what the teacher felt like that day. Fortunately, I was good at (and enjoyed) most things, except for long distance running. Sometimes we had to run every PE lesson for weeks. I simply refused to do so.
Since I was good at everything else, my refusal did not affect my grades. :0)
(It's about the only 'rebellious' thing I did in high school, lol)
I was good at sprinting, but could see no use in long-distance running. I still don't. Running is only good when you have to run away from something, and even then, sprinting will be more useful than jogging your way out of there....

I did hate the fact that sexes were separated for PE. Those girls were all big cry-babies and never wanted to play soccer, which I liked. (Now, maybe they were not all cry-babies... maybe I was a little fanatic when it came to sports, lol. I was like: if you play, you play to win. And if you're in my team but are keeping me from winning, I'll take you out anyway, lol.)

We didn't have any 'clubs', either. One year, we had a volleyball team and I remember going to Denmark to play against a school team there - but that's about it.

We had to take care of our own physical health. School didn't want to have anything to do with it. It's still like that - at least, in the schools I have been teaching over the years. Except for PE, nothing is offered.

I used to be a gymnast, back then. But once I discovered partying, the dedication was gone :0)
During the last 10 years, I used to be a dedicated climber and snowboarder, but the back trouble has made me completely inactive...

Thanks for the comment here! :)

I never understood distance running either and was much better over shorter. I do like watching the 3km and the 10km at top level though - lots of tactics there (as well as amazing lungs etc).

Weird that the schools don't really care - if they are seen slacking on PE in the UK they would be in serious shit.

Partying got me at 18, but then I found the gym and have done pretty well up until... Steem, lol :)

If you're not studying something that is sports-related, you have about 2 hours of PE/week (less, actually, more like 100 minutes), which is pathetic considering the entire 'healthy mind-healthy body'-thing.

I found the gym and have done pretty well up until... Steem

LMAO

Hurling where we used to beat ten shades of shite out of each other with sticks , football and rugby were our 3. Badminton would you believe was another one. I quite liked badminton and the old shuttlecock! We did gymnastics as well. That bloody horse. Bad memories .

I'm sure you meant the horse in gymnastics right @blanchy? Oh man, hurling and camogie (yeah, yeah, the girlie version) I LOVE watching that. And I wished they would have had that in the Netherlands when I was growing up. I would have loved to play. Instead of knocking people out in field-hockey...

I've seen Hurling on the tele - looks pretty brutal but quite good to watch!

Badminton is tough - I have mates who play and after going once it wont happen again.

A horse, at school? Posh git :P

Strange thing about horses. Only the really rich or the really poor own them! 😂😂. Yup Tonto!

Posted using Partiko Android

That is a strange but true statement. Everyone else has no need for one?

Did you see https://www.facebook.com/joshpraycomedy/videos/479993336085193/ ?
(tl;dw an American guy freaking out about seeing hurling for the first time ^_^)

Currently not playing any game but growing up I used to play football. Can\t deny I had a dream of becoming a great player one day but then my interest in playing football faded away.

I had that dream also. Un/fortunately, I realised I wasn't that good :)

Ummmm...Im not a sports man!!! Im Sorry

Wrong tribe! :D

I used to play football, but sadly I can't do it anymore due to a back injury. I really miss those days!

Damn injuries, they really got to me - If i couldn't sport i wasn't happy. Nowadays the desire is less, unless i could be 20 again :)

Football and basketball

Posted using Partiko Android

Good question! We even played football at the volleyball club's training night if the coach allowed us to. Our favorite football game, both at the club and at school, was a kind of battle royale where everyone defended their own bowling cone or block of wood.

My parents considered the football club to rough for me, which was a misunderstanding of the kind of nerd I was. I wasn't interested in the social aspect of team sports, and cycling eventually became my favorite sport. Or exercise - it's a team sport if you want to win.

I was interested in the social aspect of hanging out at the public swimming pool, which involved wrestling with girls if I was lucky.

Once I became the 100 m sprint champion of my high school year when no one else showed up. My friends didn't understand why I was interested in something as pedestrian as sports. Again, the teachers tried to make us play something different and more middle-class than football, like softball or field hockey. Softball was just standing around, while field hockey on gravel could be pretty intense. Teenagers will relish the chance to swing sticks at each other.

But the worst injury I caused in high school happened the one time we were allowed to play football on a real football field. I tripped up the best player so that his unprotected shins landed on the pavement next to the field. I swear it was an accident!

I did see a bunch of spears laying in a shed, but I don't remember ever getting to touch them. Maybe it was better to keep them out of the hands of us savages.

Cheers for the reply, some entertaining stuff here :)

... hanging out at the public swimming pool, which involved wrestling with girls if I was lucky.

Ahh, you're the guy the 'no petting' sign is for? :)

Was the 100 m sprint after the football game where everyone was hospitalized due to 'accidental ' trips?

We did play a bit of hockey, but that was no fun for me as I am a bit of a soft-lad and sticks in the shins hurt.

Spears in the shed, preserved from the neanderthal era and deemed too unsafe for today's 'youth' :)

My school was a rough school and we only tried hockey once and there was blood and at least 3 broken noses and I never saw the sticks come out again. Not for the boys anyway. As for Javelin.....just no!!

Lol!
Blood is okay but broken noses? It seems like you guys had no ball to play just each others and hockeys! 😁😁

You wouldn't believe it now, but I was quite the athlete back in the day (not that far back either). I played basketball for years, from when I was about 11 till 15 or so. I had my height going for me for a long time as I was one of the tallest in our team (mixed). In school they'd fight for me when chosing teams LOL, because I was the female Shaquille O'Neil. Only had to stick my hand up and I had the ball, and on top of that I could score too (unlike Shaq). This changed, of course, when all of a sudden the boys came back to school after the summer and had somehow all had a huge growth spurt.

I absolutely hated gymnastics though, and wasn't good at it.

I always loved softball and even played some football too. Then my sister's friend, who was the field hockey coach for the girls begged me to come and play with them because his team just wouldn't fill up, only to kick me off the team 8 weeks later because I insisted that hitting the ball high up in the air was much more fun than pushing the thing along on the grass, and in doing so I ended up smacking the ball into some girl's precious face and broke her nose... I loved field hockey aside from that and wished there was a more brutal version of the sport. Little did I know that in Ireland, they had what I wanted. When I discovered hurling and camogie here, I wished they would have had that in the Netherlands too.

Other than that, outside of school and team sports I would take on anything on and in the water. From sailing, windsurfing to kayaking and swimming... One day the kids and I will sail...somewhere...It's the dream at least.

Now? Other than my work-out videos (on a not so regular basis) all the sports I'm doing is called: 'run after the children.' Which can be fun too actually. Unless it's in the shop...

You have been a busy lady at times eh :)

They should label running after children as a sport!

Yes they should! And make it into an Olympic sport too!!

()

Football during the summers mostly. Finn's always got their dicks hard for some floorball during the winters but I sucked at it so played as a goalie instead most of the time and without proper knee protection you walked as if you were an old man afterwards. Oh and also loved it when the ball hit you right in the inner thigh that was always fun and didn't trigger you at all.

Other than that I liked shooting hoops but used both hands for some reason and never got rid of that habit when I realized later how big of a disadvantage it was.

Oh and also loved it when the ball hit you right in the inner thigh that was always fun and didn't trigger you at all.

LOLinfinity

Triggered from inner thigh ball connection! Yeah the cold weather really didn't help when that happened I bet.

Never heard of Floorball... oh, it's indoor hockey with mini-goals, meh.

Basketball, I'm not a fan. Practicing lay-ups when your are dominantly left-sided did not please my PE teacher at all - he gave up on me quickly!

Footy wins again :D

Footy ftw, was on a good track of becoming good at it too but after a winter break I went hard on shooting and something went wrong in my leg which hurt like fuck whenever I shot at 70% and above or ran fast. Doc said a muscle was dislocated and on top of another or something and it kinda never went back, lol.

Sounds rough - those Finnish winters last about 2 years though so you probably needed a good warm up :)

Hmmm.

Why'd you downvote him, lol

Copied my text from the post!

Oh lol wtf xD

Great post mate! Ok.
So at infant and junior school we had no choices. The school was in a small mining village in which we lived and it was Rugby in the rugby season and a month of cricket either side of the 6 week holiday except for one day a year which was sports day and we spent the day before getting the athletics stuff out of an old outhouse which stunk like a 70s subway, washing it down before a day spent being told to run here and jump that followed by a further day putting it all away again.

I played football in the street every night as I lived in a cul de sac with a perfect brick wall at the end for the goal. The guy who lived in the end house and who owned the brick wall hated us kids as he regularly had to have the wall repointed after the ball hit it so many times the mortar used to drop out!

High school was in a slightly posher village a couple of miles away so did a range of sports except for rugby . I loved football and played cricket but we also had the dreaded cross country running and we had a gymnasium and I hated jumping over pommel horses!

As I started O levels I stopped PE as there was no room on my timetable due to doing an extra O level in French and as I also did drama, this got me out of PE!

Cold miserable days and the smell of winter green and piss are suddenly filling my nostrils so I will leave or there!

Looking forward to reading the other replies to this :-)

Cheers! Original content and less of the dlike is my plan :)

Sounded pretty limited and weather dependent to start with but you got lucky with a brick wall and a cul de sac - ideal!

@blanchy mentioned the dreaded Pommel Horse as well - you guys are scarred from that one!

The link I shared above does say that the amount of sport teens do drops heavily in the UK at 16 y/o because it's no longer a required part of the curriculum. I was doing OK until Uni started and that first term without sport really left its mark that winter.

The pummel horse victims are ending up on sportstalk. No coincidence that! 😂😂😂. I feel a national enquiry coming. 90% of pummel horse victims are introverts and rely on virtual worlds to build relationships

hahahaha....I couldn't get up the damn climbing rope either and regularly got pelted with bean bags.

hahahaha....I couldn't get up the damn climbing rope either and regularly got pelted with bean bags.

I never did any sports again in education. A levels were at a tertiary college and I went on to do an HNC at at Poly. However, I worked at BT and we had a Sports and social club to die for back then so we had departmental football, cricket, pool....you name it, there was a team playing it with the added bonus of beer of course!

weather dependent

You are joking right? If it was light, we were out on the rugby field come rain, shine, sleet or snow.

BT sounds like the place I need to get a job at.

You have to be a bit mental to play rugby in the snow - no thanks!

soccer, basketball

I played soccer, or football. Started to play when I was 7 years old and continued until I was 15. One of the biggest mistakes of my life was to quit, but I didn't fully realize that until years later.

I started to drink, smoke and party on the weekends when I was 15 years old, so playing football wasn't as interesting anymore. Especially as my coach was a fucking retard. I actually gave up on football in the middle of a game because my coach was screaming at me and calling me names during an offside.

I wasn't sure about it being offside or not, and my assistant coach was an immigrant who didn't know the language too good. Everyone was screaming, especially my coach, and I tried to listen to my assistant coach when the referee called an offside. He told me to throw the ball, which I obviously thought was extremely weird, so I just stood there like a nutcase, meanwhile my coach yelled stuff like: "Are you fucking stupid?!" etc...

So I had enough and walked away. Left the field in the middle of the game and never looked back again.

The year before, I was actually given a Diploma for being the best defender amongst kids that were born in -85. Best defender in Sweden, so things could potentially have been really different for me... But, having a retarded coach, cigarettes and alcohol was pretty much the reasons for me to give up on that dream.

Also, this was only one of the many, many times my coach acted like an idiot. My father actually punched him in the face during training at one point. That time, because my coach called my mother really inappropriate things. Can't remember the exact stuff, but pretty much things like "whore" and "cunt" etc.

The best option would obviously have been to look for another team. Both my parents pushed for that, but I wasn't interested. I wanted to play with my team mates. Having a coach like that on top of that, well... I think I was brainwashed and I most likely thought that any other coach would've been the same.

Damn. Tough times and it does sound like it could have been very different for you given a bit more luck and a bit less of a dickhead coach. Sport is great for keeping you out of trouble - still works these days too if you can find something to entertain.

Very true, but hey. I had an awesome time between the hangovers. :D

For me while at school i played badminton though i am a tennis player. My Dad was a professional tennis player who introduced me to the game of tennis at a tender age of 9. Played greatly and represented my country in the several East African Tennis tournaments. Won some gold medals while at the University.

I am still playing my favorite game.."Tennis." Its so amazing and my favorite player is Roger Federer even though he lost in this year's Wimbledon finals to Djokovic.

Thanks so much @abh12345.sports for sharing. Its such a great sporting experience you have had while at school. Some times its hard to balance academics and Sports.

You should post about your dad on #sportstalk :) If you do, let me know.

Federer is great, so humble yet so brilliant.

Thanks!

Hello! @abh12345.sports, I have created a post about my Dad on sportstalk as advised and here is the link to my post:
https://www.sportstalksocial.com/tennis/@yohan2on/eric-ofoyuru-uganda-s-former-tennis-star-and-coach

I played football which has always been my first love like any kid in Africa, but I also played hockey and cricket but I wasn't really good at it, decent but footy was always where my heart and talents lie.

Hockey and Cricket, a bit weird for a right-handed left-hander those - i could never decide which way to stand.

Footy is the sport to bridge nations :)

I was fortunate that I went to a school that offered every imaginable sport. Like anything if you show promise in anything you would have a master trying to get you to join. I played rugby and cricket mainly ,but from some bad choices ended up on the athletics team as well. I would have loved to have done water polo and rowing but the early 5 .30 am practices scared me off.

That does sound very nice, and it would be great if every child was offered the same.

My daughter is up at around that time for swimming but I don't think you would have been able to pay me - and employers would agree :)

I actually really like to play every sport with a ball in there (no phun intended). Athletics and running always werent really my thing, as well as gymnastics, that would turn out simply dangerous..

But Baseball and Handball were surely the choice of school sports...
In private time I spend my entire teens and 20s on the volleybalcourt, a game that I absolutely love. Als playing beahcvolleyball stole up a lot of my time while playing the Dutch Championships in the early 2000s and driving to the ocean every weekend 200 kms.. Totally worth it!

Nowadays? The funny thing is how much time I have spend playing volleyball, maybe that is the less that I miss it now. Its just time for a next phase..but still love to watch the game~!

So as long as you had your hands on a phallic shaped object and there were balls involved you were good? :D

Heyyy, Dutch Championships - nice! Beach Volleyball... is great to watch :D

That is an excellent summary even young man! :D

Yeah this was in the early beach volleybal days when the level wasnt that high...After that we always got shredded faster than lightning..

Yeah...it is indeed....great to watch.. for all sexes hahaha :D

In actual gym class, it varied - there was the dreaded dodge ball, and a little baseball, which I kinda enjoyed watching but I hated playing because I did not have the hand-eye coordination to make contact with the ball very often. I could hit it hard when I did, but that was rare. XD
There was some basketball, and in high school we played some racquetball, because they had outdoor courts for it - which is when I discovered if you hit a racquetball really hard and it sails over the walls (because there was no real roof to the outdoor courts), it will fly reeeeeeeally far. Once I sent it over the courts, across the grass, across the street, and into some house's yard. Another time I sent it sideways over all the courts and it landed at the base of the fence and exploded. Literally, exploded - shards of ball were everywhere. It was then that I developed my lifelong fantasy of taking a bucket of racquetballs and a racquet to a driving range (as in, for golf) and just seeing how far I could hit them (and work out some frustrations in the process). :D
I played soccer (football) a lot with my friends and had a summer league once when I was a kid, but I was good at playing goalie, and not at running up and down a field all day. When I played with friends, I was always the goalie because I would dive for it no problem but couldn't run worth shit; but in the summer league the coach's son wanted to be goalie, so I never got to, because sports nepotism, I suppose. XD
There was a lot of running in gym - a lot of running. And then in eighth grade I joined the track and field team (remember when I said I couldn't run worth shit?) because that was the one year I got to join any sports teams I wanted, and it ended up being my favorite. That's the only time ever in all my sports experience that I had people cheer for me at a meet. Our coach had told us that whenever we're running a long race, to take a pace we could sustain and leave ourselves enough energy to sprint at the end, because other people would be tired at that point and we would easily overtake them. So I was running a mile race at the meet and did that. I must have passed a half dozen kids and our section of the bleachers was just screaming and hooting and hollering for me. I didn't even place, but the fact that I had gone from the back of the pack to closer to the front right at the end was what got all the attention. Coach hollered, "Yeah, that's what I TOLD you to do!!" and I felt sports-competent for the first time ever in my life. XD

Dodge-ball shouldn't even be allowed - that's just punishment for the slow and un-agile!

...I developed my lifelong fantasy of taking a bucket of racquetballs and a racquet to a driving range (as in, for golf) and just seeing how far I could hit them

This sounds excellent fun :D

For your race, if only you started that backstretch charge a little earlier!

Thanks for commenting :D

For your race, if only you started that backstretch charge a little earlier!

Right? I think I came in 4th or something, so I was close. But 1st place was a teammate who was a solid minute faster than me, so maybe not that close. LOL

Ahh, yeah you would have needed to run at that speed for most of the way then :)

Right. :) But I don't know how fast 2nd and 3rd were, so maybe not.

Dodge ball with wet tennis balls is really good fun if you have a good arm and know when to duck.

When I was at the elementary level, I remember played the a traditional game we called Protect the Camp. It's a child play we do after school hours before going home. In the game, we need to protect our base from the other. Aside from protecting the base, we also need to protect our comrades or they will be taken by the opponent and become theirs. It's fun.

That sounds similar to a game we used to play. I think it's worthy of a #sportstalk to go into detail about that game? :)

I was in the school teams of Cricket, Football, Hockey, Basketball & Badminton in different years. I enjoyed them all, unfortunately, other players didn't use to enjoy my company ... LOL ... so left the teams, one after other, except badminton.

Wish you lovely moments on the memory lane.

Sounds like you were too hot to handle at these sports and jealousy from others made you step away?

Thanks :D

football was main, basketball and volleyball too. mostly average 😀 i was aware of my skills so i never tried to overdo stuff. i was decent goalkeeper in futsal ( we call it small football).
was never great at sports, but i love it. and i have 4 dislocated knees to prove it 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

I forgot about Volleyball, that happened about once a year I guess.

4 dislocated knees and 3 left feet :)

4 dislocated knees and 3 left feet :)

that is called dedication :D

i only got f-up knees as a great will but no fitness :D

Football BUT dodgeball was fun as hell too :)

Dodgeball was mostly in elementary later it was just football.

Dodgeball was harsh on the the kids who didn't like sport - who then liked sport even less!

I have study sports at school till high school, so I've practice almost all more usual sports, football, handball, volley, basket, athletics, swimming.
From those athletics was the most practice because I did it in school but also for national competition in a club (triple jump and long jump).

Very cool - you must be a good sprinter to be able to long and triple jump?

Yes, in long jump is essential

I am quickly feeling the years to play the games I was playing when younger and have gravitated to less impactful games like golf or tennis! Funny when I still try to get out and play football and cannot wake up the next day!

Golf is much easier on the body - careful with that Back though!

only the calico, everywhere, in the parks, or in the street between the cars, the garage doors were the doors, to every goal we made a hellish mess, buckets of water from the lady on the first floor, balloons pierced by the grandfather asshole on duty. ..uff good times

haha, always good to get the locals angry to the point they are bathing you in water :D

Lucky you. During my school years physical education was mandatory (still is) till you graduate but that's all. There were sport activities but you had to be really talented or have some great political connections to get in a team. Sometimes the best were sidelined and the dumbs promoted just because daddy or mommy was a high ranking party member.
However, we did different sports like fencing and athletics but with a name like mine, could have never been a top athlete. Good thing those times are over.

Awww. I really miss those times, but can see why others don't at all.

My favorite sports at school and in general were soccer in my pre-teens and basketball in my teen years.

I also can consider myself lucky in the how many sports I've tried out in my school years. The last 2 schools I went to till I finished high school had this system whereby after a certain period we'd switch from the sport we were doing at the time for another one.

That has allowed me to experience sports such as soccer, basketball, american football, rugby, badminton, tennis(mostly learned in family time tho), dodgeball, netball, volleyball, baseball, cricket, gymnastics, swimming... I probably forgot some

It's funny, I hated whenever we'd go from soccer or basketball to another sport but I usually ended up liking the new sport and would be sad when it was time to switch again.

I never got the appeal of badminton and cricket though, and I was always too scrony for rugby and American football to be competitive tho I wasn't bad when it came to passes and running fleeing.

I still workout from time to time but as for any of the sports mentioned above, only basketball gets played and once or twice per year at that. Smh

lol fleeing :)

Sounds like you have had a good go at many sports, and that's really all you can ask for growing up.

Working out hmm, yeah I should probably get back to doing some of that!

Sounds like you have had a good go at many sports, and that's really all you can ask for growing up.

Indeed

Football is my favourite game. I played it at district level. I still love this game but due yo head injury, I am away from it for almost 2 years
But Inshallah someday I will return after surgery.

I hope you can return to full fitness soon enough - my favourite game also :)

Thanks. I will show you photos if I ever returned to play football.

During my school days, I played chess, basketball, sepak takraw and table tennis. Also played soccer but during intramurals only and not on regular days.

Congratulations @abh12345.sports! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 400 comments. Your next target is to reach 500 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

You should see my main account :P

Lol , this will be your main account soon. Have you entered your own engagement league?

I certainly have :)

It's there so that people can see I've not disappeared completely!

This is what i enjoyed the most in school time ;p
XPF6-fymesmp1370111.gif

Hot teacher? :D

Congratulations @abh12345.sports!
Your post was mentioned in the Steem Hit Parade in the following category:

  • Comments - Ranked 5 with 77 comments