Prepare for gardening

in #plant6 years ago

It's February and here in Slovenia time to saw first seeds for new season of gardening. In February you can saw seeds of paprika / pepper, and tomato if you live where is mild or Mediterranean climate. I live in continental climate and we saw tomato month later, so next month.

So, before I really begin with gardening I must look for seeds, buy what I need, but not have yet. Look what I want to saw, what I like to eat and so on. Then I look in planting calendar when is the best time for planting different groups of seeds.

Groups of seeds

flowers (sunflower, cauliflower,...)

leafs (salad, cabbage, spinach,...)

roots (carrots, onion, beat, potato, garlic,...)

fruits and seeds (tomato, cucumber, pepper, bean, melon, watermelon, pumpkin,...)

When you know what and when to saw, you must buy or change with other people seeds. And when you have it, what to do with them? I put them in the empty box of shoes on the different groups. There is enough space for calendar and pen too. All together is the best for not seeing where you need it.

20180210_140210.jpg

20180210_140229.jpg

20180210_140249.jpg

When I have more time I made better box for storage. I improve this box from shoes. Don't miss it.

Sort:  

Yesterday I bought my first seeds for my new veggy garden I am in the process of preparing. Cool you are blogging about it, will share my experiences too as I move on.