You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Thoughts on being muted by the #plantpower community. Do you think this is fair?

Hi, I hear you, but also see why this may have happened. The moderators in the communities often have to deal with scammers, plagiarists and farmers and one of the consistent factors with them are that they don't have introduction posts. This is why some communities will ask you for them. It's actually also a helpful way to connect with other users on Hive and may help you start to feel less isolated. You don't have to show your face, just be genuine. It's always a slow process when you come to Hive to make connections and get to know people.

The moderator from the community was actually quite nice and polite in their approach. Some can be very aggressive and rude.

I'm afraid actifit is also a bit niche and can isolate you from others who aren't actifit fans themselves, due to the amount of short content on there which some users see as farming. It's a little more accepted now than it used to be, but the short content style apps caused something of a stir when they first started up and it took some convincing that they were a valid option for Hive.

Sort:  

Thank you for your comment :)

I realize this post turned out a bit heated. My overall reaction was also due to previous observations on the blockchain that just weren't sitting right, and this unfortunately ended up being the breaking point. Regardless of how polite the triggering comments might look, I feel the lack of an explanation as to why introduction posts are necessary, it would have went a long way. I leveled with the moderator in my response, and was hoping to reach a compromise. Have a real conversation. It was frustrating to only get a robotic response that addressed none of what I poured out.

@plantpoweronhive - perhaps you could use this feedback on your communication style to improve on future interactions with new members?

I can see how moderators have their hands full with scammers, plagiarists and farmers. But if this all that you expect to see, that is a pretty sad outlook. When you end up treating every single person like they are doing something wrong, the good ones slip through the cracks. I had alot to offer going forward, and was really puzzled by the fact that my content itself was considered acceptable - it was not seen at all as being a scam, as theft or a repost, or a farming tactic - and yet I was still muted. This measure was a bit drastic for content that was deemed okay. It only makes sense to mute the actual offenders. Simply telling me that they want intros without the mute - it would have honestly avoided this entire thing. It would have been less shocking. I wouldn't have felt so forced into it - this way it is like my post is being held ransom!

Anyway, I am aware of the short form prejudice towards actifit, which is why I try to put more effort into formatting my posts, picking out daily affirmations and writing a little something personal or thoughtful that is unique to each day. That is the best that I can do.